Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jun 1, 2006 | 3:16 PM EDT
  • Daily Feature June 2, 2006
  • Weekly 3rd Place June 7, 2006

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

Blockhead, Episode 7: Imagination

Blockhead would never tell a lie, but the Conscience is skeptical.

Note: The "Courtroom Intro" for this episode was voted for by the memebers of the forums at TheSwain.com.
Note 2: Thanks for front page, Tom, my precious!

Reviews


plebanshirenplebanshiren

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 1, 2006

yes!!!!!!!!!!

u can't imagine how long i've bn w8ing 4 a nu episode of blokhed to come out and now it has and it woz hilarios!!
i hope another1 comes out soon cuz i am dying to watch it!!



JimtopiaJimtopia

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 1, 2006

Very funny.

Awesome job! I just love Blockhead! :D



51m3-0wn3d51m3-0wn3d

Rated 4 / 5 stars June 1, 2006

Still trying to like this series.

I have watched every Blockhead episode trying to get in to it. Perhaps you remember a previous review of mine.

I love your drawing style and the ideas behind what you do. But the way you have presented the random humor in previous episodes has turned me away.

This is not the case with this episode.

I can still see the randomness, but it isn't completely out there like others. It seems like it could be plausable which to me makes it more funny.

I like this episode more than any other one. Even though you stated it took less work.

Keep up the great work and I look forward to the next episode.


The-Swain responds:

Well, I wouldn't say "less work" so much as "less pressure". I didn't have to work as hard, but there was still plenty to do.

And this episode was inspired, I admit. I'd hate to think that there is some formula for creating a funny cartoon or story, but I did nevertheless combine what I learned from making the previous episodes with what I thought would be a funny and original story.

I agree with your analysis; I was trying to add something "more" to Blockhead, and I might have found it. I stand by the belief that the earlier episodes were essential just the way they were (minus the heavy use of JPG backgrounds, which I have rectified minus the intro sequence, which is not to be touched), but now that they're behind me, I can do much more with the character(s) and the Blockhead world.


KupaManKupaMan

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars June 1, 2006

Awesome

The graphic quality is getting great in Blockhead's world now. Everything was sharp and pretty and refined (except his conscience, who remains a little choppy and crude looking). Lots of funny physical comedy. Blockhead is impossible not to love.


The-Swain responds:

Haha, you know, the more I think about re-drawing the Conscience, the more inclined I am to slap the pen out of my own hand. The message of Blockhead is this: nothing will ever get better for the Conscience, not even his appearance.

I want to animate him a bit more next time, though. The only time you ever get to see him move was in Ep.2 with a mediocre walk cycle and a 3-frame sit motion. Boooo.

I promose more for the Conscience in the future. More, but not better.


DamienDamien

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 1, 2006

hmmm, yeah

U MIcheal Swain, are a true king, i'm asstonished for the fact that this was released so qiuk after time squad, i wasn't expecting something until like, next week, but my friend said "hey, a new blockhead" first i couldn't believe it, i checked and there it was, in all it's glory, including a blue wrapper, i'm am on my saddest to mis the judging of it! ....ow wait a cat just came by!.....................DAMN KITTEN! it eat my feedings! now, how are you?

This will probably won't get a reply, though i deeply wish it will.
So, your graphics are indeed outstanding, the way u combine FbF with tweening(with that i mean, blockheadçour good buddyà is FbF and the rest is tweened-with exeptions-), is just...something u need to get copyright on.
Style.....one word= Blockhead
Sound: haha! do i need to explain that, i downloaded all the blockhead sounds, wishing there where more! maybe bring out an album...singins are nice to listen
The fat guy is really not nice towards blockhead..........violent words i call that with of course damn speakings towards ur niceness(what?)
Ow yeah, one more thing, i think, that Blockhead, is randomnes itself, without a doubt!

this is the only serie i give 10 outta 10 on each factor, just because i love you <3


The-Swain responds:

A big review almost always gets a response out of me, to be sure.

The side characters in the Blockhead series are almost like little playthings for B-to-the-H to screw with. Just like Gi Joes, their range of motion is not the same as a normal person's because it does not need to be. By that logic, I like to think of tweening as their Kung Fu Grip.

And that's a pretty good call on the randomness thing. I like to hide tidbids everywhere for people to discover and use to understand Blockhead and his strange world, and I often hide them in my reveiw responses, too. So here is one for you now: Blockhead is my concept of a perfect form for something...not just stupidity, not just randomness... He is the consumate and final form of something perfectly imperfect. I use this principle to figure out his actions in every episode.

Vague? I hope so. I don't want to give away too much at once.

Thanks for keeping up with the series! Means a bunch to me.

-Swain