Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Apr 22, 2006 | 6:32 AM EDT
  • Daily Feature April 23, 2006
  • Weekly 3rd Place April 26, 2006

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • Mario
    Mario Seemingly infinite Mario parodies! Some of the funniest Flash movies ever conceived!
  • Super Mario Bros Z
    Super Mario Bros Z It's a crazy Mario / DBZ crossover!

Author Comments

[UPDATE 2 - 01/10/08] Wow, hard to believe how far things have come since I first started work on this series. Thanks for all the support over the past few years guys. Much appreciated. ^^

[UPDATE] Daily feature and front page.
What can I say? Thanks very much everyone! =^_^=

My first full length sprite animation.
I've seen many Super mario/DBZ parodies on Newgrounds, and they weren't very impressive. So I decided to make my own series with X number of parts.
The story will be based on the android saga through to the Cell games saga. Although it isn't very evident in this first part.
This episode is based on the episode where Frieza returned after he was defeated. Although, i'm aiming to make the story much different so it suits the Mario characters.
I was intending to make this episode longer, plus add a fight scene between Bowser and Mario, but I went overboard with the race scene and didn't have enough room to add it.
But i'm happy with the result anyway. And part 2 will follow along shortly. (I hope)
Anyway. Enjoy the show.

[EDIT 2] Found better sprites for the chaos emeralds, so I replaced them.

Reviews


ManlikeToasterManlikeToaster

Rated 3 / 5 stars April 25, 2006

Not bad

It was alright. Could've used a bit more action instead of following the DBZ tradition. Well I hope to see more still, and the DiddyKong tune brought back some nice early memories.



MCNinjaMCNinja

Rated 3 / 5 stars April 25, 2006

Great look and feel, but lacking substance

Some of the sprite work was seemless, but as with many sprite pieces I found myself wanting the camera to move around, particularly during the race. I know it's impossible, but that's the biggest limitation of a sprite film right there.

The music was awesome, not just because you used the Corneria theme from StarWing as your credit music. There were lots of little clips that made me nostalgic for the good old days of console gaming (Super Mario 64, Diddy Kong Racing etc.) and that always scores points. Plus the Dragon Ball Z music made me crack up.

In the end I think the thing that let the Flash down was all the franchises you are trying to fit in. A Super Mario Bros. Flash to the theme of Dragon Ball Z is always a cute idea, but at the end I couldn't see what part of Dragon Ball Z inspired it. Besides the music at beginning and end nothing really stood out as DBZ. The Sonic crossover was completely pointless, you could have just had the race and it would have made sense.

Sure there will be a second episode, but I'll have to force myself to watch it, because the cliffhanger Mario vs. Bowser fight wasn't really interesting. It was overshadowed by the Sonic-centric first half. You need real cliffhangers in Flash series.



PinballchicoPinballchico

Rated 3 / 5 stars April 24, 2006

Thumbs up

thank your for the cameo of the "I'm a Banana" character...hope the eic fight can compare to the great story youve got going so far



ToxicsnafuToxicsnafu

Rated 3 / 5 stars May 10, 2006

mk

that was awesome, i dunno if it was intentional but the lack of action and the promise of action in the next episode is typical DBZ >.<



PheonixfoxPheonixfox

Rated 3 / 5 stars May 21, 2006

Dude that brought my hopes up for a dbz thing....

and then you didn't even go into that much stuff.... it was good though so i give you credit.... and try not to copy any dbz moves in the next one plz that is so stupid when people do that stuff make up moves for there personality.... ok!!!!