Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Mar 30, 2006 | 2:26 AM EST
  • Weekly Users' Choice April 5, 2006
  • Review Crew Pick April 5, 2006
  • Daily Feature March 31, 2006

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

Anyhow, Shoo Fly is a work of "Mickey Mousing" (Google the term, my friends) to the One Piece OST track "Ichijya Tetai" ("One Hour Evacuation"). It follows a woman I call Nelly as she deals with an unwelcome fly. And that's about it. There's not much of a story to summarize.

It's been nearly two years since my last submission to Newgrounds, and what do I have to show for it? One minute of animation. This is more like 3 collective weeks worth of work, so don't get overexcited. The other hundred weeks or so were spent on irrelevant Flash and slacking in general.

Shoo Fly has the most intense frame by frame animation I've ever made, and as a result, I'm very tired of drawing Nelly. Tired of drawing, period. This experience has reinforced my decision to not pursue animation as a profession (maybe character design is more to my liking...). My mouse's left-click button is now a different color from the right-click button. EDIT: I'm sorry to have confused and dismayed some of you - I'm still going to animate stuff. Just not for a living.

Anyhow, you may notice there's a newer trackbar. It's a vast improvement over the one I designed for FFA+ - heavily inspired by Media Player Classic's interface. And by "heavily inspired," I mean "completely ripped off from." The thing will tell you how many seconds have loaded, so feel free to start watching whenever. You can also step through the animation frame by frame, speed through it at any rate (even backwards), and adjust the volume. Clicking the screen or pressing spacebar will toggle play/pause. The rest should be self explanatory.

Enjoy!

Reviews


VertVert

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 30, 2006

...

... They say it never rains, but pours. They are probably right too, because soon after the release of the amazing "Sonic X CC Trailer", you come along and give us this little masterpiece. But, whilst "Sonic X CC Trailer" can be compared to a big, juicy, rare steak, this movie is more like a fine wine, matured and elegant wine, even if it's in a small dose. In a more technical evaluation, the animation was flawless, as was the art style, the music was superb, the camera work was great and, the most important aspect of all, the on-screen action and music were timed to perfection. All in all, despite its small size, it was a wonderful animation, something of a small classic, and deserves high accolades!



MetalDartMetalDart

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 30, 2006

AWESOME!

Those graphics look like they should be in a television show! The sound was amazing and your hard work has paid off greatly. The humor was nice, but the graphics and smoothness is what really captured me. Excellent Job.



TriggenTriggen

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars March 30, 2006

Very nice!

There was some very good animation in this flash.
i love the way you made the movie fit the music perfectly!
i also love your artwork. the backgrounds were splendid and the detail to everything was excellent.
you've made a great movie and i hope this gets what it deserves!



IheersadIheersad

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 30, 2006

OMFG

OMFG OMFG OMFG

Ohhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

GODDDDDDDDDDD



MarquiMarqui

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars March 30, 2006

.

Oh man, u are so good at this, please keep it up, u are so one of my fav artists.

this is a prove that a great flash doesn't need a "great story" but a great artist's way to tell it

keep it up