Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Mar 30, 2006 | 2:26 AM EST
  • Weekly Users' Choice April 5, 2006
  • Review Crew Pick April 5, 2006
  • Daily Feature March 31, 2006

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

Anyhow, Shoo Fly is a work of "Mickey Mousing" (Google the term, my friends) to the One Piece OST track "Ichijya Tetai" ("One Hour Evacuation"). It follows a woman I call Nelly as she deals with an unwelcome fly. And that's about it. There's not much of a story to summarize.

It's been nearly two years since my last submission to Newgrounds, and what do I have to show for it? One minute of animation. This is more like 3 collective weeks worth of work, so don't get overexcited. The other hundred weeks or so were spent on irrelevant Flash and slacking in general.

Shoo Fly has the most intense frame by frame animation I've ever made, and as a result, I'm very tired of drawing Nelly. Tired of drawing, period. This experience has reinforced my decision to not pursue animation as a profession (maybe character design is more to my liking...). My mouse's left-click button is now a different color from the right-click button. EDIT: I'm sorry to have confused and dismayed some of you - I'm still going to animate stuff. Just not for a living.

Anyhow, you may notice there's a newer trackbar. It's a vast improvement over the one I designed for FFA+ - heavily inspired by Media Player Classic's interface. And by "heavily inspired," I mean "completely ripped off from." The thing will tell you how many seconds have loaded, so feel free to start watching whenever. You can also step through the animation frame by frame, speed through it at any rate (even backwards), and adjust the volume. Clicking the screen or pressing spacebar will toggle play/pause. The rest should be self explanatory.

Enjoy!

Reviews


YomToxicYomToxic

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 9, 2012

No! Come back, emergency meal!

-

Great animation, I could learn a few things. Good job!



KailixKailix

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 7, 2012

Loved the animation and music, great job! :)



Blue-SilverDragonBlue-SilverDragon

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars June 6, 2012

I love how funny this is- I've been frustriated by chasing flies in what feels like this flash!



Etheral117Etheral117

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 6, 2012

I remember first watching this years ago, and at the time I was very impressed with the animation. It has certainly aged well, too - the animating work you did is just as crisp and fluid as I remember, it almost loks professional! I'll certainly remember this piece as one of the best animations on NG, as well as a personal favorite of mine for as long as I've been visiting Newgrounds.



TweekxDTweekxD

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 5, 2012

I hate flyes a lot and have been chasing thim a simular way. after some timd i figure lasters are supper effective on flyes. A 200MW = instant death, but before that a normal lazer tends to make a flye comlietly blind! try out your self :]