Credits & Info

Uploaded
Mar 28, 2006 | 12:57 PM EST
  • Daily Feature March 29, 2006
  • Weekly 2nd Place March 29, 2006

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • Goth
    Goth Dark and twisted, just like you.

Author Comments

Second half of the 19th century. The Poet struggles to live through his fiancée's unexpected death. He finds refuge in writing.

Reviews


eengoedemorgeneengoedemorgen

Rated 4 / 5 stars March 28, 2006

Very nice noir style animation!

I liked this animation alot, I really liked the noir style of the flash, but I still have a hard time working out the message hidden in it. It's a very well thought out flash though and the music in it is great :)
Nice job, I'd like to see more people like you who really take their work serious.



SumoCowxxSumoCowxx

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars March 28, 2006

wow

nice job dude, this was qa very well made and thought out flash. i am glad to see that people like you make movies worth viewing on newgrounds, keep up the good work and keep with this good ideas



notoriousnotorious

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 28, 2006

NEW FAVORITE

DEFFINITLY



AloneInTheDarkAloneInTheDark

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars March 28, 2006

so thats what been eating your time every night

Right after the first production screenshots i knew this was going to be something special and as always you didnt disappoint me. Very stylish way of animating and drawing out the environments. It kind of has the noir feeling that i found in aura and smile too, complete with a femme fatale. But it is still very different in the careful facial expressions and the subtle colour use.
I found this animation also alot more personal that the rest of your work so far, since it isnt focused on a destroying aura or the pressure of the mass but it centers around an individual and his perception of reality. Interesting subject, especially since its told from a writers perspective and not just from some random angry adult. Now it leaves the question for the viewer how much of the animation was 'real' and how much was the writers fantasy.
Personally, I didnt find the music perfect for the story. It certainly matched the moments, but the heavy hard rock kind of distracted from the insane climaxes. I think these would come out even stronger with no music at all (and only sound effects) or with very minimal scary music. But this is just a matter of directing. On all the technical aspects it was flawless.
Now get your ass in gear to animate the flash that you have been teasing us with for the past 2 (?) years. Its 1:40 am, the day is just starting.

AITD


People find this review helpful!

WooldoorSockbatWooldoorSockbat

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 28, 2006

very good

awsome flash very good choice of music and very well done .i just had trouble trying to understand what was happening but i guess i have to look at the flash abit closer next time. excellent work.