Credits & Info

Uploaded
Mar 28, 2006 | 12:57 PM EST
  • Daily Feature March 29, 2006
  • Weekly 2nd Place March 29, 2006

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • Goth
    Goth Dark and twisted, just like you.

Author Comments

Second half of the 19th century. The Poet struggles to live through his fiancée's unexpected death. He finds refuge in writing.

Reviews


notoriousnotorious

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 28, 2006

NEW FAVORITE

DEFFINITLY



AloneInTheDarkAloneInTheDark

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars March 28, 2006

so thats what been eating your time every night

Right after the first production screenshots i knew this was going to be something special and as always you didnt disappoint me. Very stylish way of animating and drawing out the environments. It kind of has the noir feeling that i found in aura and smile too, complete with a femme fatale. But it is still very different in the careful facial expressions and the subtle colour use.
I found this animation also alot more personal that the rest of your work so far, since it isnt focused on a destroying aura or the pressure of the mass but it centers around an individual and his perception of reality. Interesting subject, especially since its told from a writers perspective and not just from some random angry adult. Now it leaves the question for the viewer how much of the animation was 'real' and how much was the writers fantasy.
Personally, I didnt find the music perfect for the story. It certainly matched the moments, but the heavy hard rock kind of distracted from the insane climaxes. I think these would come out even stronger with no music at all (and only sound effects) or with very minimal scary music. But this is just a matter of directing. On all the technical aspects it was flawless.
Now get your ass in gear to animate the flash that you have been teasing us with for the past 2 (?) years. Its 1:40 am, the day is just starting.

AITD


People find this review helpful!

WooldoorSockbatWooldoorSockbat

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 28, 2006

very good

awsome flash very good choice of music and very well done .i just had trouble trying to understand what was happening but i guess i have to look at the flash abit closer next time. excellent work.



simply-chartreusesimply-chartreuse

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 28, 2006

Wow...

I was impressed with your timing to the music. (Great choice BTW) Can't wait to see more.


People find this review helpful!

TriggenTriggen

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 28, 2006

Stunning!

I,ll give you a perfect score for this. because you really deserve it!
i've been waiting for you to release a new movie. and now you have! this surpassed all my expectations. you are a true genious. i love the way the woman changed from good to evil. and even thought his wife came down to him as an angel to prevent him from hanging himself. he still chose the reapers way. i really hope this animation gets everything it deserves!