Credits & Info

Uploaded
Mar 28, 2006 | 12:57 PM EST
  • Daily Feature March 29, 2006
  • Weekly 2nd Place March 29, 2006

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • Goth
    Goth Dark and twisted, just like you.

Author Comments

Second half of the 19th century. The Poet struggles to live through his fiancée's unexpected death. He finds refuge in writing.

Reviews


DtKnightDtKnight

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 28, 2006

Here's why.

Graphics: TO get a 10, you actually NEED to have graphics, with actual flash knowledge and skill, which you obviously have.

Style: You are you. Your story is new. Your style is unique. That's 10. Those who copy and copy and mimicand imitate are NOT stylish, but you, you have style.

Sound: No flaws, no messed up syncs, obviously the sound has had editing and it shows. Flawless, 10.

Violence: Well, yeah. There's violence. The violence is not overdone, is within the realm of physics, and looks pretty sweet. 10.

Interactivity: Well, not necessarily present, but. You provide a play button. You provide a replay. Good. 10.

Humor: I thought it was quite humorous when all the zombies burst from the grave. 10.



topdowgtopdowg

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars March 28, 2006

this is....

GREAT!



DavidDavid

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 28, 2006

Best movie recently submitted!

That was awesome. Congrats on great score!



Trojan-manTrojan-man

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars March 28, 2006

Amazingly Poe-etic

I don't know where you got the inspiration for this, but it definitely smacks of Edgar Allen Poe. A wonderful piece; it touches on the anguish of loss and loneliness. When someone is your world, you will do crazy things when they leave you too soon.

An excellent job done with the outdoors scenes, especially. The way people move in the winter is something people often fail to capture, but everything, from the stiffness of attempting to conserve energy, to the slide down the knoll was very well done. The choice of winter fits this flash very well, and intensifies the shock when the lady with the scarf rips open her coat.

Another thing I'd like to draw attention to is the fact that the imagery of the man hung is saved until the end. From title screen to the last scene, the viewer is left wondering about the hanging. Is it by his own hand? Does she hang him? Is he hung on the gallows as a criminal? That tension that was kept to the very end is such a sweet flavour to savour, and it is savoured for the whole piece.

You sir have done an excellent job with this, and I hope that Newgrounds sees a lot more like it. My only complaint is that the violence could have been more shocking. Somehow, I feel the scenes where he is smacked and the one where he is surrounded by the zombies are a little weak in the emotional punch area.

But really, this is fucking great.



eengoedemorgeneengoedemorgen

Rated 4 / 5 stars March 28, 2006

Very nice noir style animation!

I liked this animation alot, I really liked the noir style of the flash, but I still have a hard time working out the message hidden in it. It's a very well thought out flash though and the music in it is great :)
Nice job, I'd like to see more people like you who really take their work serious.