Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Mar 16, 2006 | 1:24 PM EST
  • Review Crew Pick March 22, 2006
  • Daily Feature March 17, 2006
  • Weekly 3rd Place March 22, 2006

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

First off, read Bleedman's Powerpuff Girls Doujinshi (PPGD) if you haven't! Doujinshi is Bleedman's work, *NOT* mine!!
http://ppg.snafu -comics.com/

This is a fighting game based off of the story and characters of PPGD. 6+ playable characters! Juggle combo system! Several unlockable secrets!

Front page? Thanks guys, you rock!

Have questions/trouble? Click "Read More" and read FAQ at bottom.

v1.14

PPGD is a doujinshi written by Bleedman.
The character sprites in the game are creations of Dan123 and Emm456.

FAQ:
1. the character pics on the character selection screen are outside of the boxes
-> just my personal aesthetic preference
2. the combos use the keys F and G, not A and B
-> A and B stand for 'Attack A' and 'Attack B'
3. the powerpuff girls change uniform between different attacks
-> my use of incoherent sprites (did not feel motivated to edit them all, praying you don't notice)
4. What are the controls? Can I change them?
-> Go to the "Options" on main menu to see/change them
5. How do you play?
-> read the "How to Play" on main menu
5. How do I beat Zim?!
-> He's vulnerable to a certain laser attack..
6. WHY CAN'T I SELECT MY CHARACTER??!
-> try hitting 'F' or 'G' (your default attack buttons)
7. How do you pause?
-> You can press ENTER, or click on MENU

Version History:
v1.0
- first release
v1.1
- link to bleedman's comics now opens in new window.
- new Zim voiceovers by InvaderJimu
- can now hit JUMP for fast on-ground fall recovery
- damage levels increased by 50%
- now skipping win screen is possible
- adjusted sound volume for certain voices
v1.11
- added a congratulations screen for beating story mode on highest difficulty
v1.12
- fixed congratz screen's bugs..
v1.13
- improved congratz screen, for difficulty 6+.
- fixed zim for versus.
v1.14
- zim now falls in versus mode
- added extra hidden options

Found a bug?
Then please let me know. I like fixing bugs.

Reviews


PsychoTessPsychoTess

Rated 2 / 5 stars January 28, 2014

Story is very meh. For a fighter, it could have followed some of the script from PPGD or something.

The movesets are very short but that's fine. Basic combos are okay, but the juggle is iffy as well, since you can only do a second juggle. At that point, it's a follow-up. Regarding juggling, it seems there's absolutely no way to recover, which is massively disappointing. "You can dash even while guarding or airborne, or recovering from a fall" Upon testing this, the recover is only after you have hit the ground. At this point, the AI has already dished out the full juggle combo. Your "recover" is the ability to stand up after a half second of laying on the ground and not an actual off-the-ground recover. What usefulness! I can get pummeled even FASTER now!

Fighting against a high level Bell would net me a massive amount of punishment, up to a 20 hit combo. While trying to play Bell and dish out the same as she had to me, it's near impossible. The AI is way too overpowered and even sitting in a corner blocking, they somehow are able to get BEHIND you. Mind you, you are pushed by the enemy attacks back into the wall. Then they somehow get behind you as if there was more space. Hell, while writing this review, I continued playing and they can do that ANYWHERE. Granted they can walk behind you in the open, but there's NO animation of this whatsoever. If there is, it's one frame and one frame should not be enough to get behind someone. If you watch the Blossom vs Rowdy demo reel (assuming the demos are actually recorded and nor just a new matchup), you can see how the AI acts on level 10. Corner camped heavily with very little chance to recover. You are constantly forced into it or you eat damage for being in the open.

I'd also like to mention that the deflection is complete garbage. You should NOT attach it to an attack, rather a guard. I can understand it needs to be frame specific, or even 2 frames. But you don't deflect an attack with an attack. I've had Blossom deflect my lasers and then instantly short hop into a laser before I even finished landing from my non-AI-perfect short hop. If you deflect an attack, there should also be a stun. Think about throwing a punch: The hand is deflected in any direction away from yourself and should be able to make a counterattack available. The act of deflecting takes an attack and makes the attack not only useless, but at the same time putting the attacker in more of a state of helplessness to a counterattack. Sure, it's possible for an attacker to have counted on it and made a backup plan for a counter attack and actually have a double-attack, but that's rare. The game here just nulls the attack and gameplay resumes again. Whoever hits attack first after a deflection swings first.

AI spams projectiles and seems to have the ability to deflect after a deflect. I have not won a single fight since I started the 10 star mode. I am willing to admit I am not the best gamer, but a flash game on Newgrounds should not have to warrant the amount of time spent equivalent to that of an actual fighter with actual full combos, expanded movelists, etc. One should be able to easily pick this up and play on the harder difficulties within an hour. This isn't a flash game when you set it to 10. It's SNK syndrome, except on EVERYONE rather than just the final boss.

Music is ripped from Mega Man X games, and there is only one fighting soundtrack. I've seen more full games with more soundtracks in it (Read: Space is not an issue). It takes maybe 10 seconds to rip a song from a CD, maybe faster if you download it. Adding it to the game would probably be copy/pasting code and tweaking. Any of the PPG soundtrack does actually makes sense.

Art is ripped from the doujin, as far as I know, but it fits. It actually is well put-together, rather than cut parts and sloppily pasted in. Sprites are custom and credited, thank you. The character portraits do chance expression during dialogue rather than being a single image, so that's a plus. Other than that, nothing much more on the art.

In all, I have to say the amount of work put into the game is probably somewhere in the ballpark of 10 hours, tops. Cheap combos, premade sprites, repeated audio, ripped art, the list goes on. For what it is, it does act as a fighter and gets 2 stars. The quality is par for the effort seemingly put in.

Before people start commenting on this review, I would like to say that your comments about "make a better game" are void, and here's why: I choose not to make a better game due to the fact that it would not be original anymore. I am not going to create a similar game to this and call it an improved version. Lastly, should I ignore those two previous reasons, I am not going to have my game associated with this game, even if this one is improved. Telling me to "just make a better game that's nothing like this" would then defeat the purpose of telling me to make a better game. So there. Just wanted to get that out of the way of those who make themselves feel better by saying that.

PS: If you plan on playing this game on difficulty of 7 or higher, I would seriously advise looking into Cheat Engine and maxing out your health. It's going to be an impossible ride without it.

To those who say "Hurhur I beat it on max, it was easy get better" or whatever, grow up. Post a video, and THEN take credibility. Should you have the skill to beat it on max, then recording it shouldn't be a problem, and hardware/software isn't hard to come across. Free options are available, and the quality doesn't need to be great. FPS issues make no difference since the game still PLAYS at the same FPS and if you're as good as you say, it shouldn't be an issue, now should it?



eraticfloweraticflow

Rated 2 / 5 stars November 7, 2009

I love that series!

I hope you got his permission before making this, though imitation is the greatest form of flattery...

Zim was too hard. Remember. We're talking about Zim. He's a screw up. There's no way in hell he would stand a chance against any of the playable characters. Fix that.



Juicy-JayJuicy-Jay

Rated 2 / 5 stars March 24, 2006

wow

its looks good.i got to really get into it.but tell me this...why sonic is in this?answer that!



azzwhamperazzwhamper

Rated 2 / 5 stars April 18, 2010

meh

It was not the best game, It did a crappy job of describing the story, and it was way too short, plus no matter how much I press f and g I cant pick a character!
you get 4 stars because bleedman rules!



shaguashagua

Rated 2 / 5 stars February 27, 2007

not good

one major problem is playabilty, when I was fighting with buttercup against blossom i lost three times a row (then i was pissed off, and that was the end of playing for me). my opponent predicted my moves EVERY SINGLE TIME. so playability sucks. deeply.
i found 'dash' inconvenient.
+ every move buttercup had. no good.

and that's the way the cookie crumbles.