Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Mar 2, 2006 | 6:33 PM EST
  • Daily 2nd Place March 3, 2006
  • Weekly 4th Place March 8, 2006

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

Please help this anim out by recommending it to the Parody and Religious collections.

Thanks for the awards and front page listing!
- - -
I made this Dragon Ball Z quasi-parody back in 2000 for an anime-style Flash contest at TokyoPop.com. The grand prize was $10,000 with a $1,000 prize offered for first place in each of 6 categories. I didn't win the grand prize, but I did win first place in the "fighting" category, so that was cool. Now -- years later -- I'm finally working really hard on episode II (which has painted backgrounds and a much more involved story), so I figured I'd submit this to Newgrounds and try to drum up some interest. Hope you enjoy it!

NOTE: If you watched this movie before March 7th, 2006 and thought it was too slow, please watch it again. I fixed some errors that were causing it to perform badly on slower PCs.

Reviews


fartimusfartimus

Rated 2 / 5 stars March 11, 2006

THIS won $1,000????

Looks like i'm going to have to start entering these contests if they're just going to give money to anyone...


CaptainSid responds:

The contest was six years ago. I made this with Flash 4. Which one of your Flash animations would you have submitted to the contest? Oh, wait...that's right. You haven't made any.


Dr-SlumpDr-Slump

Rated 4 / 5 stars March 11, 2006

thats was hot

But still i didnt understand why a pope dude, you draw so well, couldnt u have a better idea? Are you catholic? I really loved your work, but next time, get a better mic and... hmm well do what you want, now that i think about it its quite original to make a flash about a pope who's dragon ball style.

Nice piece of work.
8/10



silverplated3silverplated3

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 11, 2006

Nice anime.

I loved it. It was a lot like DBZ but hey I won't underrate you for that. Good Job with the voices, the drawings, the sculptings. All beautiful!! Now I can't wait for more from you.



Shado-WolfenShado-Wolfen

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars March 11, 2006

heh

I loved the japanese anime style, but it was too much like a parody of DBZ so yeah, i don't like teh pope that much (especially the new one) but yeah, i think the sounds (like the talking) could have been improved a great deal, but a lot of the other sounds seemed to have been pulled from a show like DB, anyways, it was fairly decent, and i can't wait for #2



Advent-SinnerAdvent-Sinner

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars March 11, 2006

Dude, that was soooo bowser's laugh...

I don't know, it was pretty decent, on the average side. Hopefully you will have some better ideas because this could potentially go somewhere. It had nice drawings and good overall animation, (and that laugh was TOTALLY ripped off bowser!) But you did pretty well with the whole dbz theme that was blatantly there, but also at some points he might have well just said "Kamehameha". Good, but not completely original. Maybe try adding some more humor to it, then it will be less lame.