Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Dec 5, 2005 | 10:31 PM EST
  • Weekly Users' Choice December 7, 2005
  • Daily Feature December 7, 2005

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • NG Collabs
    NG Collabs Multi-Author Newgrounds Collaborations!

Author Comments

July 13, 2012
I just went through and added a number of contributors to the list so they get headlines. Of course, they have to actually accept the invitation first.

There were some whose user name has either changed or been deleted (didn't show up no matter what I tried), so if any of the people who contributed don't get an invite, pm me and I'll see what i can do.

July 19, 2010
Uploaded an official video of this collab to YouTube.
You can find it here: http://www.youtube.com/wa tch?v=I2vgT2ZNd0Y

WOO! Daily, Weekly and Front Page! Sweet!
Sometime in July -- I believe -- -KJDunwoody- started a BBS post seeking authors to make parts for a collab based on Gary Jules' "Mad World". Yes we know the song was originally done by Tears for Fears, but we used Gary Jules version because that's what KJ picked.

Several people responded, and the response was mixed -- people were either excited to be involved for love of the movie Donnie Darko, or felt obligated to flame the collab because the author didn't have a 3.00+ BA.

In late August I came onboard with this collab -- a full month into production. -KJDunwoody- had gotten it started, but was floundering a bit -- some authors were flaking out and others were turning out abject rejects. Needless to say several artists from NG leaped in and saved what was looking to be a very interesting project. I contributed quite a lot of time to this project -- far more than I had expected -- and I'm happy to say it's finally done.

There are 25 people that should be mentioned here, they are as follows (in order of appearance in the collab):

Helbereth (I hate repeating my name here...)
Shmickname
MFProd
Andie Ciambotti
Mushroomboy5
Pigsk8s
Cybex
_darx_
XoSs
FoxCatO
HeRetiK
BlackMarketKraig
Greedoms
TheMythicBrother
Jedi-Hampster
Joem
Renaenae
GuntherSwanh
Threetrees
KJDunwoody (The original creator)
patrick_majewski
Starogre
KillMoochie
Stereoflash
daagah

There are also several people who I should mention. Numerous people submitted clips for the collab, but were either rejected or beaten out by other parts -- or just came in too late. To all those people, I apologize for lacking the KB to make an outtakes section.

Special thanks go to BlackMarketKraig, FoXcatO, ReNaeNae, Joem and Threetrees -- the early versions of your clips are what hooked me on this collab in the first place.

Well if you're still reading (I doubt it), enjoy the collab! Check the authors section for some author details and URL links to various author-supported sites.

Reviews


HurrleyHurrley

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars May 28, 2010

Fav'd

I feel pretty comfy, [Reason unstated]



sixflabsixflab

Rated 4 / 5 stars May 19, 2010

Good job guys

Overall, I enjoyed this piece. The song holds true to many, and the artists' collaboration to it was a wonderful idea and a wonderful job. The only gripe I have is that some of the artists' styles (especially the brighter-colored cartoony ones) didn't exactly fit right with the music, but that can't be helped.


Helbereth responds:

The bright colors part has been the trip-cord for a lot of reviews, but I happen to like them. I think without the color interspersed, this would be an oppressively depressing video to watch. Also, it's not like the happy-colored ones miss the point of the song - they just see it through a different palette.


JesusStrikesBackJesusStrikesBack

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars May 1, 2010

i have to agree

sadly, i felt kind of disappointed with this animation, most authors failed to capture the right emotion i thought would be there, twas ok



TheEnd95TheEnd95

Rated 2 / 5 stars April 24, 2010

alright.

I absolutely love this song and as such I am quite critical of this flash, some of It was really good but some of the images by certain people were really poor. About a third was good, the rest sucked.


Helbereth responds:

Well before I went and wrote this reply I decided to check your submissions on a hunch. Lo and behold there weren't any. I was shocked. Really, I was.

This is my shocked face.

Song fanboys don't impress me. You don't impress me. Come back when you've done something worthy of a peer review.


NerdBoy66NerdBoy66

Rated 5 / 5 stars April 9, 2010

Wow

that was beautiful that was my best video ive ever seen on newgrounds :)


Helbereth responds:

Um... Ok.

I don't know if I should be happy or disturbed.