Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Dec 5, 2005 | 10:31 PM EST
  • Weekly Users' Choice December 7, 2005
  • Daily Feature December 7, 2005

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • NG Collabs
    NG Collabs Multi-Author Newgrounds Collaborations!

Author Comments

July 13, 2012
I just went through and added a number of contributors to the list so they get headlines. Of course, they have to actually accept the invitation first.

There were some whose user name has either changed or been deleted (didn't show up no matter what I tried), so if any of the people who contributed don't get an invite, pm me and I'll see what i can do.

July 19, 2010
Uploaded an official video of this collab to YouTube.
You can find it here: http://www.youtube.com/wa tch?v=I2vgT2ZNd0Y

WOO! Daily, Weekly and Front Page! Sweet!
Sometime in July -- I believe -- -KJDunwoody- started a BBS post seeking authors to make parts for a collab based on Gary Jules' "Mad World". Yes we know the song was originally done by Tears for Fears, but we used Gary Jules version because that's what KJ picked.

Several people responded, and the response was mixed -- people were either excited to be involved for love of the movie Donnie Darko, or felt obligated to flame the collab because the author didn't have a 3.00+ BA.

In late August I came onboard with this collab -- a full month into production. -KJDunwoody- had gotten it started, but was floundering a bit -- some authors were flaking out and others were turning out abject rejects. Needless to say several artists from NG leaped in and saved what was looking to be a very interesting project. I contributed quite a lot of time to this project -- far more than I had expected -- and I'm happy to say it's finally done.

There are 25 people that should be mentioned here, they are as follows (in order of appearance in the collab):

Helbereth (I hate repeating my name here...)
Shmickname
MFProd
Andie Ciambotti
Mushroomboy5
Pigsk8s
Cybex
_darx_
XoSs
FoxCatO
HeRetiK
BlackMarketKraig
Greedoms
TheMythicBrother
Jedi-Hampster
Joem
Renaenae
GuntherSwanh
Threetrees
KJDunwoody (The original creator)
patrick_majewski
Starogre
KillMoochie
Stereoflash
daagah

There are also several people who I should mention. Numerous people submitted clips for the collab, but were either rejected or beaten out by other parts -- or just came in too late. To all those people, I apologize for lacking the KB to make an outtakes section.

Special thanks go to BlackMarketKraig, FoXcatO, ReNaeNae, Joem and Threetrees -- the early versions of your clips are what hooked me on this collab in the first place.

Well if you're still reading (I doubt it), enjoy the collab! Check the authors section for some author details and URL links to various author-supported sites.

Reviews


Kirbyman41Kirbyman41

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 6, 2012

wow this is... well awsome

it really describes the way how lives of the innocent are messed up

very beautifle song


People find this review helpful!
Helbereth responds:

That's somewhat close to my first reaction to the song. It's a poignant lyrical piece.


catmink1catmink1

Rated 5 / 5 stars April 28, 2012

I love this song and collab. Its very sad ' in a good way ' You can really relate to some of the animation. Impressive, very!!!


Helbereth responds:

Well, thank you. Glad you liked it.


Nodnarb37Nodnarb37

Rated 4 / 5 stars February 27, 2012

I liked this video, and I love the song, but the collab part kinda throws it off for me. I'm not saying it's the different art styles that don't do it for me, but its all the different takes on the song. Some are sad, some are wacky, some are damn near creepy, and others are just "there". Still though, a good video and woth a watch.


People find this review helpful!
Helbereth responds:

That's probably the most common complaint about this collab - that it feels so disjointed. In retrospect (we're talking 6 years later), I'd like to have been able to get some of the parts a little more TLC, but I spent 6 months working on getting it filled. This wasn't a well-supported project in the NG community, either. It was started by someone with a sub-par BA (not myself), and it carried that stigma from the outset. It was difficult to get skilled artists to contribute, so I had to hand-hold a number of potential contributors.

I don't recall exactly, but the clock clip that appears in the collab was part of the file package I was sent when I took over the project, and I had to hunt down the author - I'm not even sure if it was intended as part of this collab.

Some of the clips fell short in quality, to be sure (no offense, some of them were really inexperienced with the medium), but I think each one hits a note all its own in terms of drawing out a parable from the song. Some of them really hit harder than others - especially the ones along the darker side - but each one contains a thought or a comment on how crazy the world can be; which is what I think is the point of the song.


sleepyhead4eversleepyhead4ever

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars July 27, 2011

. . .

pretty deep


Helbereth responds:

Still waters tend to do that.


DeEnilol8erDeEnilol8er

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 16, 2011

...I now have a lump in my throat.

Gee thanks guys. lol
The one with the pregnant teen in the ally really got me...