Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Aug 14, 2001 | 5:21 AM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice August 15, 2001
  • Daily Feature August 15, 2001

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • Flash Portal History: 2001
    Flash Portal History: 2001 The year starts with someone setting up the bomb and ends with 9/11. Also, the Clock Crew is born!
  • Mario
    Mario Seemingly infinite Mario parodies! Some of the funniest Flash movies ever conceived!
  • Sonic the Hedgehog
    Sonic the Hedgehog Sega's answer to Mario! What next, a Crash Bandicoot collection?

Author Comments

Often imitated, but never duplicated...the first (and still reigning champ) of the Mario Vs. Sonic movies. After watching all 4 endings, be sure to check out the "lost ending". Look for it ath the bottom of the page where it says other movies by me.

Reviews


BStingleyBStingley

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 14, 2001

Simply the best

That was awesome you really should make some more nintendo vs sega duals. I think Robotnic Vs Bowser would be really good. Keep up the good work



Dago-RedDago-Red

Rated 3 / 5 stars August 14, 2001

You should try megaman vs sonic

Make some more. You're my god Randy. I worship you and Razoric.


People find this review helpful!
Randy-Solem responds:

Yes! In that case please send me
1. a case of corona light
2. some percocets


SA-MagicSA-Magic

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 14, 2001

Randy Solem is god.

Some flash animators show a hint of excellence, some do not, yet some have excellence thrust upon them!
That was excellent. I may not have laughed out as much as other movies (Sloth ones:), though I did laugh out hard three times at least, the concept and performance of the movie makes it a contender for my all time favourite.

I'd love to see a sequel, or some other characters duelling (Bowser versus Robotnik over the best villain? Luigi versus Tales? X Nintendo person versus Y Sega person?).

This is possibly the best yet of VGDC- quality and concept wise. Great work Randy!



DiscoChaoDiscoChao

Rated 4 / 5 stars August 14, 2001

Exactly what it says on the tin, Sonic Vs. Mario

Sonic Vs. Mario seeams to be a fair unbiased fight with a winner of your choice. There is also a mystery ending I've yet to see.

Sound: The sounds are accurate to say the least. Also has a couple nice music pieces on it. Its decent.

Graphics: Mostly ripped spites and screenshots. They're put toghether well but for me the screen shakes about a pixel through the whole animation. Nothing outstanding about it but it does the job.

Interactivity: Its a show not a game but you do get a few choices at the end. For a show it has decent interactivity.

Style: Thats where I'd say it shines the most. You can't really describe a style so you should watch it.

Violence: Its a duel so there is a minimum violence factor here. But its lightweight stuff for most people on newgrounds.

Humor: Like I said Its a duel but there is a little humor in it.

Overall: I personally like this animation and on I'd probly give an 8.5 out of 10


Randy-Solem responds:

Yeh the sprites are ripped, but about 60% of them I edited to do what I wanted them too. Have you ever really seen Mario really do the crane kick?


SonGokouSonGokou

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 14, 2001

Cool

Nice choice of music.That was funny as hell I had to watch it at least 3 times.You should make more vs movies like that.Maybe Link from Zelda vs Zelda.