Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Nov 15, 2005 | 12:31 PM EST

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

EDIT:
2012/01/06

Whoa, I didn't realize Stick Fighter had made it to 16th in the "Best of All Time" with a 4.43 rating!!!

And sure, I'll totally admit that there are many, many better games on Newgrounds (this was my first ever game from when I was first learning Flash after all), but seriously, is Stick Fighter really that bad to warrant all the super bad ratings now just to knock it off the Flash Portal?!?

Haters gonna hate, I guess.

Brace yourself, Josh, the Blams are coming...
-------------------------

EDIT:
2005/11/05

Yes, I KNOW the enemy is hard. As was testing it, I kept making the enemy harder and harder until it beat me 50% of the time, but I forgot to consider that a first-time player wouldn't know everything that I knew as the programmer about how the AI would behave.

Yes, I KNOW it's hard to throw a fireball, but it IS possible.

To throw a fireball:
Press BACK (the opposite direction of your opponent)
then press FORWARD (the direction of opponent)
then press one of the PUNCHES.

Don't hit all 3 buttons at the same time, but you've got to be quick about it. You have less than a second between each keypress to do the fireball combo.
-------------------------

Arcade-style fighting game like Street Fighter, only with Stick Figures.

I know Stick Figure fighting games have been done before, but I made STICK FIGHTER in 2004 for a school assignment when I was first learning Flash.

There are 2 Modes of play:
1) Single player vs Computer AI
2) Two players vs each other

Current features are:
-- fireball combos (both standing and crouching)
-- two strengths of attack for both punches and kicks
-- jumping, crouching and blocking
-- artificially intelligent Computer opponent
-- shadows and blood
-- music and sound FX

I recently added volume controls for the audio. I might add more special moves someday. I'd also like to make it so people can reconfigure the key controls for their own keyboards. It was tricky to find a functional layout for the two player controls because Windows has a glitch were certain keyboard combinations cancel each other out and I didn't want one player to be able to accidentally (or intentionally) mess up the other player by button mashing their own keys. The current default keyboard controls should be comfortable for almost all keyboards and they should work in all operating systems.

Oh ya, and the background animation for the main menu is actually two AI computer players strategically fighting each other at random. It's kinda fun to watch them beat each other up.

Reviews


KosyghinKosyghin

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars November 15, 2005

Very cool!

I like the style. But you could use more background, and possibly some agonizing screams. Good job anyway.



VenomousNinjaVenomousNinja

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars September 1, 2006

Pretty good

Although, it sucks that the user who gets hit first has basicly no chance, and it's turn based a little, cause when you hit the enemy they hit you immeditaly... And I can't do a fireball! Add more combos and make the attack speed a little faster so it's not turn based...


joshmorgan responds:

It's not realy turn based at all. It's just that the enemy AI blocks when you attack and then waits to attack until you are returning to your stand position (ie. pulling your arm / back). This sdoes indeed kind of make a tit-for-tat scenerio, but you can stop the enemy for pounding on you if you block and/or jump.

As for the fireballs, I admit that they are kind of hard to throw, but this is intentional because they fireballs take so much damage. I assure that fireballs are indeed possible. I recommend trying 2 player mode by yourself to practice getting the timing right.

I also admit that the enemy AI is too hard, at least for a first time player. I got so good at it while porgraming it that I kept making it harder and harder. Someday I'll add difficulty settings so it's easier for a novice player.


HoisamaHoisama

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars November 15, 2005

good enough

Graphics 2: stick movies aren't good graphiced... it was good made for a stick movie though
Style 8: although the stick graphic's it was kinda stylish...
Sound 0:didn't have the sound on...
Violence 7: it's a fighting game! camman!
Interactivity 0: well... it's a fighting game! camman!
Humor 2: it is not the most funny game here!

Overall 7: yep a well deserved 7 .



2-3-ryan-52-3-ryan-5

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars December 27, 2008

well...

its epic and cool to watch
but its a little fast and difficult
but you just have to keep trying



latino-toidlatino-toid

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars February 27, 2008

I cant stop to laught

Funny