Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Nov 15, 2005 | 12:31 PM EST

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

EDIT:
2012/01/06

Whoa, I didn't realize Stick Fighter had made it to 16th in the "Best of All Time" with a 4.43 rating!!!

And sure, I'll totally admit that there are many, many better games on Newgrounds (this was my first ever game from when I was first learning Flash after all), but seriously, is Stick Fighter really that bad to warrant all the super bad ratings now just to knock it off the Flash Portal?!?

Haters gonna hate, I guess.

Brace yourself, Josh, the Blams are coming...
-------------------------

EDIT:
2005/11/05

Yes, I KNOW the enemy is hard. As was testing it, I kept making the enemy harder and harder until it beat me 50% of the time, but I forgot to consider that a first-time player wouldn't know everything that I knew as the programmer about how the AI would behave.

Yes, I KNOW it's hard to throw a fireball, but it IS possible.

To throw a fireball:
Press BACK (the opposite direction of your opponent)
then press FORWARD (the direction of opponent)
then press one of the PUNCHES.

Don't hit all 3 buttons at the same time, but you've got to be quick about it. You have less than a second between each keypress to do the fireball combo.
-------------------------

Arcade-style fighting game like Street Fighter, only with Stick Figures.

I know Stick Figure fighting games have been done before, but I made STICK FIGHTER in 2004 for a school assignment when I was first learning Flash.

There are 2 Modes of play:
1) Single player vs Computer AI
2) Two players vs each other

Current features are:
-- fireball combos (both standing and crouching)
-- two strengths of attack for both punches and kicks
-- jumping, crouching and blocking
-- artificially intelligent Computer opponent
-- shadows and blood
-- music and sound FX

I recently added volume controls for the audio. I might add more special moves someday. I'd also like to make it so people can reconfigure the key controls for their own keyboards. It was tricky to find a functional layout for the two player controls because Windows has a glitch were certain keyboard combinations cancel each other out and I didn't want one player to be able to accidentally (or intentionally) mess up the other player by button mashing their own keys. The current default keyboard controls should be comfortable for almost all keyboards and they should work in all operating systems.

Oh ya, and the background animation for the main menu is actually two AI computer players strategically fighting each other at random. It's kinda fun to watch them beat each other up.

Reviews


therapingmudkiptherapingmudkip

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 8, 2014

THIS IS GREAT I CAN KICK EVREYBODYS ASS AND RAPE THEM WHEN THEY ARE KNOCKED OUT



Android550Android550

Rated 5 / 5 stars April 1, 2012

Wow very nice



orangedonutorangedonut

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 16, 2005

Pretty good addicting

Couldn't stop playing until I beat the CPU.Maybe it's because I'm not good at Street Fighter.I beat it on the 3rd time.



MineAdictMineAdict

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 9, 2013

Cool Game



EldanEldan

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 20, 2005

Great!

(Graphics and Humor 0 because i hate Sticks)
aside from being stickies, it notices that the animation quality surpases the other lame stickie films or games. good work. Im a terrible fighter, and I had a lousy time beating the crap out of the gray dude. but now that i finally wacked his brains out....

good job