Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Nov 15, 2005 | 12:31 PM EST

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

EDIT:
2012/01/06

Whoa, I didn't realize Stick Fighter had made it to 16th in the "Best of All Time" with a 4.43 rating!!!

And sure, I'll totally admit that there are many, many better games on Newgrounds (this was my first ever game from when I was first learning Flash after all), but seriously, is Stick Fighter really that bad to warrant all the super bad ratings now just to knock it off the Flash Portal?!?

Haters gonna hate, I guess.

Brace yourself, Josh, the Blams are coming...
-------------------------

EDIT:
2005/11/05

Yes, I KNOW the enemy is hard. As was testing it, I kept making the enemy harder and harder until it beat me 50% of the time, but I forgot to consider that a first-time player wouldn't know everything that I knew as the programmer about how the AI would behave.

Yes, I KNOW it's hard to throw a fireball, but it IS possible.

To throw a fireball:
Press BACK (the opposite direction of your opponent)
then press FORWARD (the direction of opponent)
then press one of the PUNCHES.

Don't hit all 3 buttons at the same time, but you've got to be quick about it. You have less than a second between each keypress to do the fireball combo.
-------------------------

Arcade-style fighting game like Street Fighter, only with Stick Figures.

I know Stick Figure fighting games have been done before, but I made STICK FIGHTER in 2004 for a school assignment when I was first learning Flash.

There are 2 Modes of play:
1) Single player vs Computer AI
2) Two players vs each other

Current features are:
-- fireball combos (both standing and crouching)
-- two strengths of attack for both punches and kicks
-- jumping, crouching and blocking
-- artificially intelligent Computer opponent
-- shadows and blood
-- music and sound FX

I recently added volume controls for the audio. I might add more special moves someday. I'd also like to make it so people can reconfigure the key controls for their own keyboards. It was tricky to find a functional layout for the two player controls because Windows has a glitch were certain keyboard combinations cancel each other out and I didn't want one player to be able to accidentally (or intentionally) mess up the other player by button mashing their own keys. The current default keyboard controls should be comfortable for almost all keyboards and they should work in all operating systems.

Oh ya, and the background animation for the main menu is actually two AI computer players strategically fighting each other at random. It's kinda fun to watch them beat each other up.

Reviews


coleinabowlcoleinabowl

Rated 0 / 5 stars August 9, 2012

sucks


joshmorgan responds:

Thank you, coleinabowl, for taking time out of what must be a very busy day for you to post such an eloquent review. If only I had spent as much time and effort in making Stick Fighter, as you obviously spent in typing your detailed review. Surely your fingers must be exhausted from typing those five fierce letters, and you brilliant brain must be strained from conjuring such impassioned prose. You, sir, are truly the King of the Trolls, and I kneel, blammed and shamed, before Thee!


sniffzorsniffzor

Rated 0 / 5 stars August 8, 2012

worst.... game.... evuuur..


joshmorgan responds:

Best. Review. Ever.


McFlyGoatsMcFlyGoats

Rated 0.5 / 5 stars July 29, 2012

...Blam.


joshmorgan responds:

Thanks, McFlyGoats, for the half star rating. I shall print it out and pin it to my lapel for all whom I meet to bask in your generosity and praise. I can only hope that my next effort will earn a whole star from you.


DoomRaterDoomRater

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars June 4, 2012

Are there any moves that counter each other? It looks functional and fun but I'd like to know if there is any balancing of moves in the game. As long as it has that, it IS as good as 90% of the fighting games I've seen on Newgrounds.


joshmorgan responds:

No, unfortunately, there are not any "counter" moves that inflict damage instead of taking damage, so the game is very "tit-for-tat" with player-1-attacks-then-player-2-kicks-then-player-1-etc...

But this is exactly the sort of constructive comment that I need to hear as I start making my new sequel game, 'Stick Fighter II Alpha.' I'll be sure to add counter moves in the SFII.

I've learned TONS about Flash programming and general game design since making 'Stick Fighter' way back in 2004, so SFII should be MUCH better.


Android550Android550

Rated 5 / 5 stars April 1, 2012

Wow very nice