Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jul 27, 2005 | 11:34 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice August 3, 2005
  • Daily Feature July 29, 2005

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

Programming by Tom Fulp
Art by Dan Paladin

PRESS Q TO TOGGLE QUALITY. Some users may need to toggle it to 'low'.

A = light jab
S = heavy attack
arrows = walk

Experiment with the combo system to kill as efficiently as possible. Meet dad in the bad part of town.

I submitted this 30 minutes early AS A SPECIAL TREAT.

Reviews


sengokusengoku

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 28, 2005

awesome

fulp and synj do it again ;)

i can't wait to see whatever-The-Behemoth's-Next-Game-is-going-to-be-called :)



PhantosanuccaPhantosanucca

Rated 3 / 5 stars July 28, 2005

"The gameplay mechanics need more tuning" [6.5/10]

For my 300th archived review, I've decided to review Tom and Dan's latest project, Dad 'n Me. Now, I had before expressed my disconcern with the concept during it's Alpha stage. However, I go into this review without bias, as I feel it's only fair that everyone get a fair review, and I wouldn't be much of a reviewer if I didn't give everyone a fair shot. Regardless of how much I dislike the idea of what's being presented.

During the load-up, we're treated to some very nice button links to buy Alien Hominid. I already own AH myself, so it's just a pretty marketing ploy until the game loads up. At which point we're treated to more pretty logos and backgrounds and buttons. Which is nice, but that's the high point for the graphics here. As soon as the game begins, the visuals become much less flashy and detailed. They have a cartoony flair, not unlike something on Nickelodeon. I for one never thought of Synj to be all that great an artist anyway, but as an animator, which are almost 2 completely different things, Dan has always impressed me... Until now... It's not that I hate the visuals in this game, it's just that they're pretty much the same stuff we've seen time and time again. The same pseudo-square kids with the flat heads, dot eyes and lines for mouths walking around, except outfitted with afro's and t-shirts and junk to show that they represent specific members of the Newgrounds community. That's fine and all, but it's not that realy deserves a *high* score in the graphics category. Hell, most of the animation isn't as fluid as the Alien Hominid DEMO. I had this thing on low and medium, and both times, only when there's only 2 characters on screen, and when the backgrounds and foreground stop moving, will there be anything close to fluidity. Motion tweens were used a bit too much here as well. The backgrounds themselves are not horrible to look at, but Dan has made better looking games than this.

The nick-esque environments are a +1 in style, but that's as far as style goes for this game. And again, what is up with the concept to this game? "Kill Defenseless Children?" You know why Final Fight used street thugs and evil corporate business ninjas as enemies? Because there's more incentive to kill them than to kill a harmless child. Specifically that almost none of the kids in this game are even bothering you, let alone trying to harm you, while generic street thugs and ninjas are out to kill you in other sidescrollers. Self-Defense is the basis for 2-D sidescrollers, and when you lose that aspect, you lose all incentive to bring virtual harm to the characters onscreen. I know it's just supposed to be twisted and fun, but I don't even think it's either of those things. It's not all that violent, and it's not very exciting. Punching kids does get boring, and the pacing of the game is rather unbalanced.

That's not even the worst part of Dad 'n Me. I can tell you two went out of your way to make this a fun sidescroller game, and I can give you that much credit. You even tried to implement some combo system in there, but with only 2 buttons for attacks, and very little, almost randomly decided control over when and how you can combo the kids, it just seems like a broken system. In that sense, it feels like this game is not finished. Many times combos simply didn't work, and even punching sometimes failed for no clear reason, even if standing exactly perpendicular to your opponent. Was this game tested enough? I don't know, but the gameplay mechanics need more tuning.

The music fits the game nicely, and I like the sound effects too. Although the car sound effects were a bit too loud...

Don't get me wrong. I don't hate this game, per ce. I am a fan of Tom and Dan's work. I'm still playing AH to this day, and I don't regret that purchase. But this game in particular, has some pretty obvious flaws to it, that prevent it from reaching the same level of enjoyment as AH. I just think this game should've spent a little more time in development.

~Phantos


DanPaladin responds:

i'll address stuff.

the logos and ads are there because this file will be stolen and put on sites without our permission, so it's only fair to point people back to where we'd like to be showing our work from.

i'm sorry you don't like the animation but if you think my animating skills from several years ago is more fluid than my current skill, you're absolutely weird. maybe you're confusing something in there.

as far as flatheads go, you may just have to get used to it. artists have a thing called a "style". perhaps you've heard of it. Nobody told Monet to stop painting the way he did. Nobody told Dali that they can tell that a painting is his and that's bad. It's a GOOD thing, and I hope you smell a fart soon.

This is stand-up arcade violence and you're going to love it. Storyline Shmoryline.

Who the hell are you to say self-defense is the basis for 2D brawlers? You are a moron if you think that. 2D brawlers are not self defense. They are a tool in which you can slay hundreds of enemies and scream YEAHHHH EAT THAT. In DoubleDragon you might be saving a girl, but you're beating the living shit out of people by bashing your knee into their mouth over and over. Who do you think the cops would arrest first? The guy with the teeth marks in his knee or the 100000 people laying on the floor dead?

Anyway, better luck next time. I think you are over-analyzing.


KnoxKnox

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 28, 2005

yaaay

woot, its nice seeing me get the krap beat out of me, thanks :P

anyways, the game is great! the music is great and everything is interactivable(or whatever)

good job danny and tommy <3


People find this review helpful!

Apeman505Apeman505

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 28, 2005

Holy crap!!!!!!!!

That game was freaking hilarious!!! OH MY GOSH!!! Just run around beating up poor little kids?? Sure! :D



ShadowsRevivalShadowsRevival

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 28, 2005

Nice Work Guys

Hey nice job u guys this is a fun game. took me a while cause of beatin up the ppl like illwill and all but it was fun. my max combo was 999 and if u dont believe me try this at the last person keep the other 2 or 3 morons alive and keep pressing A + S after u killed the boss to keep upercutting him and the other morons will eventually walk into u and will add to combo. anyway nice job!