Support NATA 2014

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jun 9, 2005 | 5:57 AM EDT
  • Daily 3rd Place June 10, 2005
  • Weekly 4th Place June 15, 2005

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

** Notice: Text will fly by fast! So read faster! **
** Warning! Some scenes might be found Very disturbing to some. **

15/04/09 More News: It's still happening.

05/08/06 Additional News: I've updated the file with a new one. New fonts, less faulty grammar and replaced the old Lilium *opening version* song with the extended one. The transfer went... Swell. =) Please have a look.

Edit: Ok... Things are going too far. I had no IDEA where this submission would end up after posting it here on Newgrounds. And honest to God, I am overwhelmed by the response that I've got. I try to keep up with the reviews and mails that you send me. And if you sent a mail and I havn't responded, I am sorry... There are just so many. T.T

Based on the amount of reviews, I feel there is need for some (even further) explanation of stuff:
1. Some of you feel that the story is lacking and has no real substance. I understand this, since I had to cut it short because of the length of the song (which I had to edit and generaly murder to make it twice as long). The text fly by fast because of the same problem.
2. And as for the gory part... I try to keep open minded about things in the world and I dont get upset easily... Things I find minor offensive, others might find alot worse. And if you open your eyes a bit you'll realize that things like these actually DO happen.
3. Lilium... She's a special girl. Try to have that in mind before you judge her.
4. The Shadow and the Brother... There's a reason why he wanted her brother the way he was.
5. I didnt have any political thoughts with this movie... Whatever happens in the movie does not have anything to do with my political views on anything. Its just a story.
6. I am not a Goth. I am not Emo. I just like writing stories. I hate being labeled.
7. I did write the dialogue... Though it was a very bold move since I've never rhymed in all my life and English isnt my native language. (I'm Swedish for those who are curious.)
8. The song is from the Anime, Elfen Lied. At first when I saw the anime I was a bit stunned. But I loved it in a non-sadistic way (if that's possible). Some of you say my story is identical (or near it) to Elfen Lied's story... Which I find odd. Only similarity might be the excessive violence, other than that... No.

9. ... I am working on a sequel... And it will be alot different from this one.

*End of Edit*

This is my first Flash creation ever and it took about 4 days to complete. I had never before seen Flash in action so I pretty much learned as I went by... Never before have I sceamed that much and cried because the software didnt work with me... Still the thing came out pretty ok.
There isnt really any "animation" in this piece... Its more of a slideshow of sorts, telling of a very important event in the young girl, Lilium's, life.
The main thought of the movie was for it to work as a presentation for my RPG character (regular D&D style... Paper and Pen)... There are some written dialogue in there... Read fast! The script was longer than the song would alow... Enjoy!

P.S
Promise my next uploads will contain alot more animation and alot more action. ^^d

Reviews


brolytwinbrolytwin

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 11, 2012

Last time I saw this video I was still in elementary school. So beautiful.



SirStormerSirStormer

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 15, 2012

This remains a truly great flash, even in spite of its 7+ year age. As someone who has browsed NG off and on since 1998 (on AOL, *shudder*) there are a few flashes that I will ALWAYS think of first when I consider the macro history of the site's submissions. Some are the more well known ones, that just about anyone can recall, others are lesser known flashes that have few views, and even fewer comments. Of the multitude of flashes that I can actively remember, Lilium always stands out. I've never been exactly sure why it was so engrossing, given the relative simplicity of the flash itself. The plot, or perhaps "story" is more suitable in this specific usage, doesn't delve into any largely unexplored territory, yet coupled with a hauntingly perfect usage of the selected songs and an amazingly stylized art technique, the flash becomes absolutely wonderful. I know Lilium has garnered its fair share of haters (insert haters gonna hate.jpg here), but so to does any flash that gains such a large amount of viewers. As always, the multitude of fans are always more important than the critics, and I hope it is their voices which have been heard most clearly over these past several years.

I understand the the whim or the artist is not always in line with the desires of the fanbase, and also that real life events can quickly subdue any attempts to follow up on such as success, but I sincerely hope that "Lilium" receives not only a followup, but a followup that it desires and of which you are obviously capable. I was a little disheartened to hear that the 1st followup series was cancelled, and became even more disheartened when more and more time passed by. Us fans of Lilium have now found ourselves told on multiple occasions that this is not yet the end, but this becomes more difficult to believe in lieu of the ever increasing amount of time that has passed without any mention of the project. This period of inactivity is made even more difficult when one can find an administrator's comment on the Petite Symphony forums which mention's Liliums status as on "indefinite hold." While I like to think of myself as an optimist, I have generally came to realize that indefinite hold is synonymous with "cancelled." That being said, I am pleased that there is still hope, as you have, again, proven that you are indeed capable.

My only mildly discreet pleading for the continuation of the series aside, I wish you luck in whatever endeavors you are currently engaged in. I initially visited the Petite Symphony website, admittedly in search of Lilium information, and while I appreciate the talent of the artists, its largely not "my style" of artistry (and I say this holistically, not referring simply to the technical aspects of art). I'll keep checking in from time to time, as will all other true fans of Lilium who refuse to entirely give up the hope that indeed the series will continue. I know you have commented just this past May, on this very site that Lilium indeed lives on, and though the 5 month period since makes this a little less palatable than before, its still hope. So, I wish you well, and I look forward to what you have to offer in the future, I have no doubt that if you approach it with the same apptitude and prose that you did with the original Lilium, that it will have no trouble finding itself among my own, and countless others, most memorable flashes of NG history.


People find this review helpful!

jace614jace614

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 12, 2012

"SIMPLE SMILES ELUDE PSYCHOTIC EYES" Slayer/ Good video semi depressing considering the fact that she lost her new born brother and a unstable agreement must be made



TanakaNatsukoTanakaNatsuko

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 26, 2012

I really liked this. The music went well with the theme and story. The graphics were very nice. The words do go by quickly but I still have this a five star because that is stated in the author comments.



DieatrichDieatrich

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 19, 2012

this is an amazing short and well written nice job


People find this review helpful!