Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jun 9, 2005 | 5:57 AM EDT
  • Daily 3rd Place June 10, 2005
  • Weekly 4th Place June 15, 2005

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

** Notice: Text will fly by fast! So read faster! **
** Warning! Some scenes might be found Very disturbing to some. **

15/04/09 More News: It's still happening.

05/08/06 Additional News: I've updated the file with a new one. New fonts, less faulty grammar and replaced the old Lilium *opening version* song with the extended one. The transfer went... Swell. =) Please have a look.

Edit: Ok... Things are going too far. I had no IDEA where this submission would end up after posting it here on Newgrounds. And honest to God, I am overwhelmed by the response that I've got. I try to keep up with the reviews and mails that you send me. And if you sent a mail and I havn't responded, I am sorry... There are just so many. T.T

Based on the amount of reviews, I feel there is need for some (even further) explanation of stuff:
1. Some of you feel that the story is lacking and has no real substance. I understand this, since I had to cut it short because of the length of the song (which I had to edit and generaly murder to make it twice as long). The text fly by fast because of the same problem.
2. And as for the gory part... I try to keep open minded about things in the world and I dont get upset easily... Things I find minor offensive, others might find alot worse. And if you open your eyes a bit you'll realize that things like these actually DO happen.
3. Lilium... She's a special girl. Try to have that in mind before you judge her.
4. The Shadow and the Brother... There's a reason why he wanted her brother the way he was.
5. I didnt have any political thoughts with this movie... Whatever happens in the movie does not have anything to do with my political views on anything. Its just a story.
6. I am not a Goth. I am not Emo. I just like writing stories. I hate being labeled.
7. I did write the dialogue... Though it was a very bold move since I've never rhymed in all my life and English isnt my native language. (I'm Swedish for those who are curious.)
8. The song is from the Anime, Elfen Lied. At first when I saw the anime I was a bit stunned. But I loved it in a non-sadistic way (if that's possible). Some of you say my story is identical (or near it) to Elfen Lied's story... Which I find odd. Only similarity might be the excessive violence, other than that... No.

9. ... I am working on a sequel... And it will be alot different from this one.

*End of Edit*

This is my first Flash creation ever and it took about 4 days to complete. I had never before seen Flash in action so I pretty much learned as I went by... Never before have I sceamed that much and cried because the software didnt work with me... Still the thing came out pretty ok.
There isnt really any "animation" in this piece... Its more of a slideshow of sorts, telling of a very important event in the young girl, Lilium's, life.
The main thought of the movie was for it to work as a presentation for my RPG character (regular D&D style... Paper and Pen)... There are some written dialogue in there... Read fast! The script was longer than the song would alow... Enjoy!

P.S
Promise my next uploads will contain alot more animation and alot more action. ^^d

Reviews


xanimegeek7xxanimegeek7x

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 20, 2007

Sha-weet

First off, I wanna say how much I enjoyed this flash, purely artistic, no bells or whistles, *thumbs up*

Second, anyone going "Goths and emos suck, they should kill themselves!" You're flat out theotistical single minded idiots. Oh what, don't know what theotistical is? There you go, my point exactly. I agree with a past forum, you are no better than a Nazi or KKK member. Just because they're outside your narrow view of normal doesn't mean their bad. They're not the cause of the problem, you made the problem out of thin air.

And the nick-jacks out there going "This is sick! Dead baby?!? Oh my god!, Better call priest John to consult him about this!" A baby died? Wahh! Grow up! Not all of life is happy choco-yumyum.

I like the idea, Lilium is obviously familiar with death, she's in a graveyard at the beggining and has a chat with a living shadow. So, when asked to kill her parents and rip her unborn sibling in-twain from the mother's womb, she's unfased. Why? Death and darkness are the two constant forces in the universe. There is light, but suns die and bulbs burnout. Darkness is always there.
So's death, as long as there's life there's death. Got offtrack, those two constants are in her life. She's familiar and is willing to hurry the inevitable.



Undead176Undead176

Rated 3 / 5 stars May 20, 2007

hmm...

i loved the animation and style of this animation, but i dont like the fact of killing families, but still a very good story line and i love the poetry :), and whoever thinks that all goths should go kill themselves....WTF WHY ARE YOU WATCHING THIS!??!?! get outta this genre of flash videos and go do something useful in your life other than trying to say a group of people are inferior to you...if you think any stereotype should burn in hell or you think the stereotype you are should rule, your just as bad as the Nazis or the KKK.



zzzzaczzzzac

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 19, 2007

Wounderful,

I enjoy these type of toons on newgrounds, you could find me in the goth or noir collectiom. Anyway I liked the story and how it was told through a slide like toon.



KermitTheMuppetKermitTheMuppet

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars May 19, 2007

Fairly good...

I really enjoyed the narration and the art style, yet this wasn't much of an animtation as it was a slide show. The music was very ambient and was well-suited. Good luck with the series.



basquiatbasquiat

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 18, 2007

One of my favorites!

I've been watching this one since before I became a member... It's one of my favorites on the portal because the style is so consistant, the theme is carried off well, and in general it's a fairly original idea. I love this flash!