Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
May 10, 2005 | 12:58 PM EDT
  • Daily Feature May 11, 2005
  • Weekly 2nd Place May 11, 2005

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • Animals
    Animals Cats, dogs, penguins, bears; they're all here!

Author Comments

The Fox and the Mirrior
::Full-animated-Short::
:Not Animated in Flash::

Behold I have completed it! The first Creation Warrior Production!
After 3 months I can finally show off my short film “The Fox and the Mirrior.”

I did it because I am currently attending CalArts and every year we are expected to make a short film. I Have to say the people in the department are the most hard working insane awesome people before. I am just one of the individuals who accomplish this great feet every year. It’s Awesome! Only now can I appreciate the amount of work that goes into hand drawn animation. So much work for such a short thing. But it means so much! Now I feel like I can accomplish anything!

About:
Title: The Fox and the Mirrior

Length: 1:48 sec (25 shots)

File Type: currently crappy 3 meg swf (looping)

Created with: Pencils lots of pencils, Mostly with my trusty mechanical pencil with .5 HB high-polymer lead(man it killed my hand) but also a lot with Crete-color Monolith and Tombo HB drafting pencils. All on “12 field” animation paper, (about 14” by 12”) I tested the animation on a “lunch box system.” I then scanned it in using Animation Stand and put the drawings in order in After Effects then Edited all the shots (27 of them) together with Final Cut Pro. The only place Flash had was in out putting it for the web. Other than that nothing was done in that program. All Drawn! Crap!

Death Toll: Some 1600 drawings over three months, average of 3 to 12 hours strait work a day (yes this is true!) and many, many sleepless nights. This isn’t all just drawing I also had to plan it out x-sheet it, scan it, compose it and output it. Well for every second there needs to be 24 frames I drew about 24 -12 frames for every second...yeah just do the math.

“The Fox and the Mirrior © copyright 2005 Margaret (Razi) "Creation Warrior" Mathison and Creation Warrior Productions, creation_warrior.com@hotmail.com [link]

You can also view it here:
(it's in the news just click the link and tell me what you think in the tagboard next to it)
[link]

Answered Questions:

Music: I go the music from one of my friends who had it around I heard it and I just had to use it. I think however it was done by Dead Poetic.

Gender?: The fox is actually female. I wanted it to kind of come across without being weird. But really she is just a fox.

Were you Helped? : I did it all on my own

Don't understand it?: Yeah I ran out of time and was unable to complete like 5 shots...Maybe I'll upload the storyboards for those shots so people can see the whole thing.

Meaning?: Yeah it's more of just a piece that expresses in an abstract way my emotions. The butterfly is supposed to be kind of the dream, what the fox wants...It's supposed to represent desire. The Mirrior (Yes Mirrior) is just supposed to show our worse enemy, ourselves. The fox is me because I am well a fox .

How long have you been animating?: I've been at CalArts 1 year and this is my first animation.

Reviews


GreenPhatGreenPhat

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 13, 2005

Why'd you thank God?

Did 'God' write the script? Did 'God' write the music? Did 'God' supply the pencils and paper? Does 'God' own Newgrounds? Did 'God' give a good review? Who the fuck is 'God'?

Waste of your time.



somadmansomadman

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 14, 2005

anthropomorphic for the win ^0^v

i got to agree with lemomicetea on his point of what wtf internetchampion giving her 0 for it and boomboomladoom i can tell your one of the tv race who cant see how much blood and sweat when into this fantastic piece of work not only does it loko fantistic but the music blends right in there and when one of those to can come up with something half as good id shut up and screw the colours not only that knock acouple of mouths on i still say it would be better like it is now nothing but B&W. i take my hat of to her she is a ture artist and i wouldn't even have the time or skills to make one frame, all i got to say is well done and i hope to see some more work from you


People find this review helpful!

arrowhead117arrowhead117

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 25, 2006

varey good

i loved it it may be short but hay its better than my notpad shorts =/ wich take me like 10 minits =P i cant wait to see wut uther things youl be making (my grammer sucks =P)



F3L1XF3L1X

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 16, 2005

Awesome

Dude this was awesome....



WoulfWoulf

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 11, 2005

WOW. just......... WOW

That was absolutely, without a doubt, the most beautiful piece of animation I have seen in quite a long time.

Who ever thought a pencil and some paper could bring forth such meaning?

Well, you, obviously :) Got anything else? I'd love to see more of your work.