Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
May 10, 2005 | 12:58 PM EDT
  • Daily Feature May 11, 2005
  • Weekly 2nd Place May 11, 2005

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • Animals
    Animals Cats, dogs, penguins, bears; they're all here!

Author Comments

The Fox and the Mirrior
::Full-animated-Short::
:Not Animated in Flash::

Behold I have completed it! The first Creation Warrior Production!
After 3 months I can finally show off my short film “The Fox and the Mirrior.”

I did it because I am currently attending CalArts and every year we are expected to make a short film. I Have to say the people in the department are the most hard working insane awesome people before. I am just one of the individuals who accomplish this great feet every year. It’s Awesome! Only now can I appreciate the amount of work that goes into hand drawn animation. So much work for such a short thing. But it means so much! Now I feel like I can accomplish anything!

About:
Title: The Fox and the Mirrior

Length: 1:48 sec (25 shots)

File Type: currently crappy 3 meg swf (looping)

Created with: Pencils lots of pencils, Mostly with my trusty mechanical pencil with .5 HB high-polymer lead(man it killed my hand) but also a lot with Crete-color Monolith and Tombo HB drafting pencils. All on “12 field” animation paper, (about 14” by 12”) I tested the animation on a “lunch box system.” I then scanned it in using Animation Stand and put the drawings in order in After Effects then Edited all the shots (27 of them) together with Final Cut Pro. The only place Flash had was in out putting it for the web. Other than that nothing was done in that program. All Drawn! Crap!

Death Toll: Some 1600 drawings over three months, average of 3 to 12 hours strait work a day (yes this is true!) and many, many sleepless nights. This isn’t all just drawing I also had to plan it out x-sheet it, scan it, compose it and output it. Well for every second there needs to be 24 frames I drew about 24 -12 frames for every second...yeah just do the math.

“The Fox and the Mirrior © copyright 2005 Margaret (Razi) "Creation Warrior" Mathison and Creation Warrior Productions, creation_warrior.com@hotmail.com [link]

You can also view it here:
(it's in the news just click the link and tell me what you think in the tagboard next to it)
[link]

Answered Questions:

Music: I go the music from one of my friends who had it around I heard it and I just had to use it. I think however it was done by Dead Poetic.

Gender?: The fox is actually female. I wanted it to kind of come across without being weird. But really she is just a fox.

Were you Helped? : I did it all on my own

Don't understand it?: Yeah I ran out of time and was unable to complete like 5 shots...Maybe I'll upload the storyboards for those shots so people can see the whole thing.

Meaning?: Yeah it's more of just a piece that expresses in an abstract way my emotions. The butterfly is supposed to be kind of the dream, what the fox wants...It's supposed to represent desire. The Mirrior (Yes Mirrior) is just supposed to show our worse enemy, ourselves. The fox is me because I am well a fox .

How long have you been animating?: I've been at CalArts 1 year and this is my first animation.

Reviews


Chibi-Robo-PwnsChibi-Robo-Pwns

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 11, 2007

Amaizing

keep up the good work



shadow-faerieshadow-faerie

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 10, 2005

Wonderful

That was beautifully made, even more so by the fact that you drew it all by hand. You deserve lots of praise for this for I cannot say i've seen something draw by hand and put together so well for a long time. Keep up this wonderous work.



CaelDragonsbaneCaelDragonsbane

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 12, 2005

Unbelievable!

I have seen works like this before, and the raw emotion expressed by the fox is outstanding for one person to make on his own. Despite how short it was, (that was to be expected every frame is hand-drawn) I found myself watching it over and over, just to see his expression when he encountered a side of himself he didn't know, his anger, his fear, how nervous he was when he was surrounded by the mirrors. Everything just made me feel it inside, I'm not entirely understanding how I feel right now, but I know I don't often feel this way. Maybe it's the damn good music, I dunno.



FoxandthemirrorFoxandthemirror

Rated 5 / 5 stars April 28, 2007

Stunning

this is absolutly stunning. it takes such talent to make something like this especially by hand! Bravo! Brava! Bravisimo!



Stephanie-BefannyStephanie-Befanny

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 11, 2005

beautiful art work.

i thought the plot was a little sad, but the feelings a flash can make a person feel is what makes this place so wonderful to come back to every day. wonderful job, hope to see more work from you.