Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
May 10, 2005 | 12:58 PM EDT
  • Daily Feature May 11, 2005
  • Weekly 2nd Place May 11, 2005

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • Animals
    Animals Cats, dogs, penguins, bears; they're all here!

Author Comments

The Fox and the Mirrior
::Full-animated-Short::
:Not Animated in Flash::

Behold I have completed it! The first Creation Warrior Production!
After 3 months I can finally show off my short film “The Fox and the Mirrior.”

I did it because I am currently attending CalArts and every year we are expected to make a short film. I Have to say the people in the department are the most hard working insane awesome people before. I am just one of the individuals who accomplish this great feet every year. It’s Awesome! Only now can I appreciate the amount of work that goes into hand drawn animation. So much work for such a short thing. But it means so much! Now I feel like I can accomplish anything!

About:
Title: The Fox and the Mirrior

Length: 1:48 sec (25 shots)

File Type: currently crappy 3 meg swf (looping)

Created with: Pencils lots of pencils, Mostly with my trusty mechanical pencil with .5 HB high-polymer lead(man it killed my hand) but also a lot with Crete-color Monolith and Tombo HB drafting pencils. All on “12 field” animation paper, (about 14” by 12”) I tested the animation on a “lunch box system.” I then scanned it in using Animation Stand and put the drawings in order in After Effects then Edited all the shots (27 of them) together with Final Cut Pro. The only place Flash had was in out putting it for the web. Other than that nothing was done in that program. All Drawn! Crap!

Death Toll: Some 1600 drawings over three months, average of 3 to 12 hours strait work a day (yes this is true!) and many, many sleepless nights. This isn’t all just drawing I also had to plan it out x-sheet it, scan it, compose it and output it. Well for every second there needs to be 24 frames I drew about 24 -12 frames for every second...yeah just do the math.

“The Fox and the Mirrior © copyright 2005 Margaret (Razi) "Creation Warrior" Mathison and Creation Warrior Productions, creation_warrior.com@hotmail.com [link]

You can also view it here:
(it's in the news just click the link and tell me what you think in the tagboard next to it)
[link]

Answered Questions:

Music: I go the music from one of my friends who had it around I heard it and I just had to use it. I think however it was done by Dead Poetic.

Gender?: The fox is actually female. I wanted it to kind of come across without being weird. But really she is just a fox.

Were you Helped? : I did it all on my own

Don't understand it?: Yeah I ran out of time and was unable to complete like 5 shots...Maybe I'll upload the storyboards for those shots so people can see the whole thing.

Meaning?: Yeah it's more of just a piece that expresses in an abstract way my emotions. The butterfly is supposed to be kind of the dream, what the fox wants...It's supposed to represent desire. The Mirrior (Yes Mirrior) is just supposed to show our worse enemy, ourselves. The fox is me because I am well a fox .

How long have you been animating?: I've been at CalArts 1 year and this is my first animation.

Reviews


IgiliIgili

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 10, 2005

This was a very beautiful animation!

The most beautiful i have ever seen.



WindyFoxWindyFox

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 10, 2005

Breathtaking. Simple but beautiful.

Increible. If anyone on this site had half of your artistic talent, this portal would be famous rather than imfamous. That was the best animated thing to come across the portal in a long time. Good job.



midnight-demonmidnight-demon

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars May 10, 2005

Interesting.

Very good use of abstract imagery. I really like how this was done. The art was beautiful and your music choice worked perfectly for this movie. You obviously put a good amount of work and emotion into this piece. Excellent work, I would love to see more.



D34M0ND34M0N

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars May 10, 2005

Wow

I've never seen anything like this. It looks really good. It must have costed you quite some work to draw all those drawings and make a movie of it. It's very original. I hope to see some more from you, you got talent.



HaCkO-oHaCkO-o

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars May 10, 2005

Beautiful...

Awesome work... unlike a few of you that seem to wanna spite this for lack of color... I find it perfectly fitting... its what this piece calls for.. and it set the mood... it lets your imagination fill in what you are seeing... I believe the idea of new grounds is to give your imagination a little freedom... and I believe this flick does just that...