Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
May 10, 2005 | 12:58 PM EDT
  • Daily Feature May 11, 2005
  • Weekly 2nd Place May 11, 2005

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • Animals
    Animals Cats, dogs, penguins, bears; they're all here!

Author Comments

The Fox and the Mirrior
::Full-animated-Short::
:Not Animated in Flash::

Behold I have completed it! The first Creation Warrior Production!
After 3 months I can finally show off my short film “The Fox and the Mirrior.”

I did it because I am currently attending CalArts and every year we are expected to make a short film. I Have to say the people in the department are the most hard working insane awesome people before. I am just one of the individuals who accomplish this great feet every year. It’s Awesome! Only now can I appreciate the amount of work that goes into hand drawn animation. So much work for such a short thing. But it means so much! Now I feel like I can accomplish anything!

About:
Title: The Fox and the Mirrior

Length: 1:48 sec (25 shots)

File Type: currently crappy 3 meg swf (looping)

Created with: Pencils lots of pencils, Mostly with my trusty mechanical pencil with .5 HB high-polymer lead(man it killed my hand) but also a lot with Crete-color Monolith and Tombo HB drafting pencils. All on “12 field” animation paper, (about 14” by 12”) I tested the animation on a “lunch box system.” I then scanned it in using Animation Stand and put the drawings in order in After Effects then Edited all the shots (27 of them) together with Final Cut Pro. The only place Flash had was in out putting it for the web. Other than that nothing was done in that program. All Drawn! Crap!

Death Toll: Some 1600 drawings over three months, average of 3 to 12 hours strait work a day (yes this is true!) and many, many sleepless nights. This isn’t all just drawing I also had to plan it out x-sheet it, scan it, compose it and output it. Well for every second there needs to be 24 frames I drew about 24 -12 frames for every second...yeah just do the math.

“The Fox and the Mirrior © copyright 2005 Margaret (Razi) "Creation Warrior" Mathison and Creation Warrior Productions, creation_warrior.com@hotmail.com [link]

You can also view it here:
(it's in the news just click the link and tell me what you think in the tagboard next to it)
[link]

Answered Questions:

Music: I go the music from one of my friends who had it around I heard it and I just had to use it. I think however it was done by Dead Poetic.

Gender?: The fox is actually female. I wanted it to kind of come across without being weird. But really she is just a fox.

Were you Helped? : I did it all on my own

Don't understand it?: Yeah I ran out of time and was unable to complete like 5 shots...Maybe I'll upload the storyboards for those shots so people can see the whole thing.

Meaning?: Yeah it's more of just a piece that expresses in an abstract way my emotions. The butterfly is supposed to be kind of the dream, what the fox wants...It's supposed to represent desire. The Mirrior (Yes Mirrior) is just supposed to show our worse enemy, ourselves. The fox is me because I am well a fox .

How long have you been animating?: I've been at CalArts 1 year and this is my first animation.

Reviews


slavetothegrindslavetothegrind

Rated 2.5 / 5 stars May 11, 2005

niiiiice

I loved the way the music kinda set the mood for it.I think it REALLY
got your message through to those who watched.... VERRY GOOD



GeminipilotGeminipilot

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars May 11, 2005

Something different - an artistic piece

When I first saw the draft style, I admit that I feared for what I was about to witness. However, when I saw how detailed and consistent the animation style was, I could see that this was not the piece of an amateur sketcher or flash artist. The time and effort put into this flash looks as if it were cut directly from a mainstream film. Facial expressions and motion are done in gorgeous detail, among the best I've seen on Newgrounds. However, in the transformation scenes the animation can be a tad difficult to follow. And the greatest animation problem of this flash is its fluidity - especially at the beginning motion is very choppy.

Other than the animation and what is going on, there is little happening in this flash. The sound detracts nothing from the flash, but it adds nothing, as well. In the end, though this flash demonstrates the artist's great competence, it has little entertainment value. I'm impressed, but I'm also moving on.

I am curious as to what the author may (hopefully will) submit with in the future.


People find this review helpful!

GameMaster5001GameMaster5001

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 11, 2005

I expect great things from you.

I'm grading you a bit harshly because you have talent, and you have genius, among many other admirable qualities. Keep working, keep trying, because I see a bright future ahead of you. Good job.



LostarLostar

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 11, 2005

Really good and very well done forsooth!

You should color it and subit it as a short to Sundance or something...



j-a-c-ster1j-a-c-ster1

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 11, 2005

absolutely gorgeous, but...

... their's NO preloader! The animation that could play was on point, but it chugged and stopped so much. Truly, your animation inspires me, but PLEASE learn more about Flash; might turn out awesome for you. Draw on! ^_^