Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
May 10, 2005 | 12:58 PM EDT
  • Daily Feature May 11, 2005
  • Weekly 2nd Place May 11, 2005

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • Animals
    Animals Cats, dogs, penguins, bears; they're all here!

Author Comments

The Fox and the Mirrior
::Full-animated-Short::
:Not Animated in Flash::

Behold I have completed it! The first Creation Warrior Production!
After 3 months I can finally show off my short film “The Fox and the Mirrior.”

I did it because I am currently attending CalArts and every year we are expected to make a short film. I Have to say the people in the department are the most hard working insane awesome people before. I am just one of the individuals who accomplish this great feet every year. It’s Awesome! Only now can I appreciate the amount of work that goes into hand drawn animation. So much work for such a short thing. But it means so much! Now I feel like I can accomplish anything!

About:
Title: The Fox and the Mirrior

Length: 1:48 sec (25 shots)

File Type: currently crappy 3 meg swf (looping)

Created with: Pencils lots of pencils, Mostly with my trusty mechanical pencil with .5 HB high-polymer lead(man it killed my hand) but also a lot with Crete-color Monolith and Tombo HB drafting pencils. All on “12 field” animation paper, (about 14” by 12”) I tested the animation on a “lunch box system.” I then scanned it in using Animation Stand and put the drawings in order in After Effects then Edited all the shots (27 of them) together with Final Cut Pro. The only place Flash had was in out putting it for the web. Other than that nothing was done in that program. All Drawn! Crap!

Death Toll: Some 1600 drawings over three months, average of 3 to 12 hours strait work a day (yes this is true!) and many, many sleepless nights. This isn’t all just drawing I also had to plan it out x-sheet it, scan it, compose it and output it. Well for every second there needs to be 24 frames I drew about 24 -12 frames for every second...yeah just do the math.

“The Fox and the Mirrior © copyright 2005 Margaret (Razi) "Creation Warrior" Mathison and Creation Warrior Productions, creation_warrior.com@hotmail.com [link]

You can also view it here:
(it's in the news just click the link and tell me what you think in the tagboard next to it)
[link]

Answered Questions:

Music: I go the music from one of my friends who had it around I heard it and I just had to use it. I think however it was done by Dead Poetic.

Gender?: The fox is actually female. I wanted it to kind of come across without being weird. But really she is just a fox.

Were you Helped? : I did it all on my own

Don't understand it?: Yeah I ran out of time and was unable to complete like 5 shots...Maybe I'll upload the storyboards for those shots so people can see the whole thing.

Meaning?: Yeah it's more of just a piece that expresses in an abstract way my emotions. The butterfly is supposed to be kind of the dream, what the fox wants...It's supposed to represent desire. The Mirrior (Yes Mirrior) is just supposed to show our worse enemy, ourselves. The fox is me because I am well a fox .

How long have you been animating?: I've been at CalArts 1 year and this is my first animation.

Reviews


Woad-warriorWoad-warrior

Rated 3 / 5 stars May 13, 2005

Good but..confused

WOW the animations were greeeaaat
Especially since they were handrawn...
but....uh...well...WTF DOES IT MEAN! IM SO D4MN CONFUSED!
I WATCHED IT ABOUT 20 TIMES TRYING TO FIGURE IT OUT WHAT IT MEANT! I dunno maybe I just do'nt see it or something. If you relying only on animation then gj but if not I do'nt see what the fuss is over



AshadyguywithaswordAshadyguywithasword

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 13, 2005

Excellent

Very in debt. True emotion is put in to this. I find it a great masterpiece. I wouldn't suggest coloring it. And Yes the mirror drives us all insane.

"Within every human lies pure evil and pure innocence. The mirror reflects our evil self." -(**DWS**)<CORP>Razgriz (My name on Medal of Honor Spearhead)



raven-blood13raven-blood13

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 13, 2005

it reminded me of one of my freinds

i thought it was great the way it flowed and i liked the fact that it had a real point to it.



KidFoxKidFox

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 13, 2005

Great

It was just ... great. I would love to see the rest of it or at least read the storyboard. That must have been a lot of work.



ItchykamiItchykami

Rated 4 / 5 stars May 13, 2005

~

You're really killing yourself with your drawings. I appriciate it, definately; all 1296-2592 pictures. I would seriously suggest turning your frame rate down a bit if you don't want to spend so much time on it. For a TV show cartoon or an anime movie, you may need 24 frames a second, but for flash, you should be able to do fine with 10-15. You could then spend the extra time on coloring, maybe, or at least stablizing the darkness of the lines.
Again, I definately appriciate the difficulty of the work, you've done something on par with programming a game in C by yourself.