Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Apr 8, 2005 | 10:05 AM EDT
  • Daily Feature April 9, 2005
  • Weekly 2nd Place April 13, 2005

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

The real title should be "The Child That Smelt Funny" but it wouldn't fit.

Alright people here's a rather long one for you (don't complain it was orignally much longer) it's not a dark nasty one so don't expect to feel ill or uncomfortable. Yes the character as the start is Jim, I used him because I recently scrapped Fat-Pie 4 (I hated it!) and disappointed a few people so I thought I'd put him in his first Flash. Anyway all I can say is that it's long, my longest flash yet. Enjoy it.

Thanks to Afro_Ninja for the actionscript help.

Reviews


SamuraiDrifterSamuraiDrifter

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 20, 2010

Widely misunderstood

People who don't understand the jump between the kid that smelt odd and the banning obviously missed the whole point of the cartoon: That's how probition works in REAL LIFE. Blame is totally placed on something it had nothing to do with and the authorities ban it, as though that would solve the problem.

Prohibition of drugs comes to mind. Back in the 1930s, marijuana was a relatively new drug in the United States (though it had been used elsewhere in the world for thousands of years) used mostly by minorities. The government was racist and wanted a way to put minorities in prison, so they spread racist propaganda claiming that smoking marijuana "made black men look lustfully at white women," among other things, and so it was banned.

There was obviously not a connection between marijuana and interracial lust, nor was the latter undesirable. The problem was simply the people themselves, and their own prejudice.

In the same way, the advertisements they banned had nothing to do with the kid being set on fire- it was his fault for being covered in petrol, and the other students for waving a sparkler around him. Banning was a totally mismatched solution to the problem.


People find this review helpful!

storiehawkinsstoriehawkins

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 4, 2010

misc.

I absolutely love David Firth's work! No complaints all good vibes here.


People find this review helpful!

YrrYrr

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars November 4, 2010

Funny:)

This movie is quite funny.


People find this review helpful!

VictorMusicVictorMusic

Rated 1.5 / 5 stars November 2, 2010

so...

the drawing are not very nice and the voices are not clear



theirkenboytheirkenboy

Rated 3 / 5 stars October 23, 2010

uhh...

im pretty sure that the guy who made this is mildly insane, and yet i cant stop watching his flash's


People find this review helpful!