Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Feb 19, 2005 | 6:29 AM EST
  • Daily 2nd Place February 20, 2005

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • Robots
    Robots Do you like cartoons about robots? Look no further!

Author Comments

Obsolete-
This movie was a big project for me. I started it 5 months ago and am finally finishing. I am a big fan of robot movies and stories and thought it was about time I did my own, so here it is. And for any hardcore robot fans out there, the movie even follows Asimov's 3 laws of robotics. Big thanks to DJ Riott on the music. It wouldn't be the same without. I hope you all enjoy and appreciate this movie.

-Matt

Reviews


social-misfitsocial-misfit

Rated 3 / 5 stars March 3, 2005

Nice animation & everything...

But that pissed me off. I hate blue robot.

The ending was worse than the one in "Mice of Men" or "Lord of The Flies" :(

I suppose not all animations can end with the hero going ape shit & killing everyone--since that always happens in most flash toons anyway.



Fayt-LeonhartFayt-Leonhart

Rated 4 / 5 stars March 2, 2005

Good job on this.

Well, I cant top the review before this one, and I agree with basically everything Bezman said, so I can only say so much. I liked the transitions you used in between scenes, like the one after The grey Robot is running with the guy, then it zooms out of the window and rotates to the guy in bed. The music does help the mavie a lot, and I can't think of anything that can improve it. Adding sound might not accomplish what you were going for, and I personally liked it without sound. So, very nice work onm this one, and as always I hope to see more from you. Oh, and I also liked when the Robot and the guy High Fived. That was pretty funny.


Matt-Merrill responds:

hey, Thanks for yet another review!! I always look forward to seeing yours. Glad you liked the movie. Hehe, and the high five part made me laugh as well when I was making it.


BezmanBezman

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars March 2, 2005

Slightly predictable, but excellent direction here

From the start:

The intro is interesting, with thick lines forming an abstract representation of static, with 3 images of the robot fading in and out to nice effect.

The creation of the robot is all excellently timed to the beat of the music and the font goes well with the interesting style of the graphics - thick fills and shadows with no outlines.

The story did seem a bit predictable - from the time I saw the grey robot running along, I sort of realised what the rest of the plot would involve.

Yet, it was a pleasure to see it work out.

The mood of the music seems to reflect the emotions you intend to portray with your animation well.

The ending was - I think - almost as horrific as you intended it to be, largely helped by the reactionary shots of the witness and the excellent way in which you emphasised the blows.

I really enjoyed the whole animation and there's little I would criticise about it.

I do like the style of your graphics, mainly as it's a change from most work and it is animated fairly well, but it could be improved without losing your style I think.

Also, you never seemed sure how to draw hands, whether to have them a solid colour, have small shadows as with the grey robot, or darker outlines, as with the blue one. Obviously I'm not saying everything should be drawn the same way. It's just something I noticed on 3rd watch. And it's one of the only criticisms I can make.

The direction is great but the story just seems a bit predictable. Still, with your excellent storytelling, it's a joy to watch and I applaud you.


People find this review helpful!
Matt-Merrill responds:

wow, thanks for the detailed review. haha, and about the hands... yeah I wasn't very consistent there. Probably cuz the movie was stretched out over 5 months and I didn't even think about it when I went to draw the next characters hands.
Anyway, glad you liked it, and again, thanks for the real review and critism instead of just the one sentence reviews most people give.


SekkySekky

Rated 4 / 5 stars March 2, 2005

A Moving Story

I really liked this piece. From start to finish I felt immersed in the story and animation. It's not a really deep story, but probably one a lot of people can relate to.

Art was simplistic, use of shade and shadow, no lines which is fast becoming a popular style today. Colours were all in blocks, something I find myself usually complaining about because it irritates me, but I'll let it pass this time.

The animation I thought was a little hesitant at times, it didn't flow well at certain points in the movie, but having said that, it didn't stop the flow of the movie as a whole, it kept it going.

The music was what really immersed me in it. It puts you in a hypnotic state more than anything in the film. It was a good mix which draws you in and makes you feel more for tha robot. A really good subtle tune, I love it.

Great idea for a story, pretty powerful, hope to see more like this.

~Rhyth~



dyll2010dyll2010

Rated 4 / 5 stars March 1, 2005

Very well done.

This movie was very well done. It can be related to and will be viewed by me in days to come.