Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Feb 19, 2005 | 6:29 AM EST
  • Daily 2nd Place February 20, 2005

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • Robots
    Robots Do you like cartoons about robots? Look no further!

Author Comments

Obsolete-
This movie was a big project for me. I started it 5 months ago and am finally finishing. I am a big fan of robot movies and stories and thought it was about time I did my own, so here it is. And for any hardcore robot fans out there, the movie even follows Asimov's 3 laws of robotics. Big thanks to DJ Riott on the music. It wouldn't be the same without. I hope you all enjoy and appreciate this movie.

-Matt

Reviews


Cindy-DollCindy-Doll

Rated 4 / 5 stars February 21, 2005

Good message

I really enjoyed watching this; you had a very profound message on there and it shone through. Great job



flashman7flashman7

Rated 4 / 5 stars February 21, 2005

Question

I liked the movie, and I also found the poem at the end.
What was the inspiration behind the poem and movie? Sounds like maybe you felt like you were obsolete....break up with a gf or something? Just wonderin


Matt-Merrill responds:

Nah, I don't feel obsolete or anything. I like expressing feelings in my work, but they are rarely how I am actually feeling in real life.


Mr-MachineMr-Machine

Rated 5 / 5 stars February 20, 2005

Very Good Work

I really enjoyed this movie. I think I can really appreciate it because robots are something I think about a lot.

And not that it matters (or even applies to the movie) but you forgot the Zeroth Law.

0. A robot may not injure humanity, or, through inaction, allow humanity to come to harm.


Matt-Merrill responds:

The 0th law is the first law. If you have read asimov's work, the first law (though it just says "a human") covers humanity as well as individual humans.


kirby335kirby335

Rated 5 / 5 stars February 20, 2005

very good

i did not like the ending or the new robot though. i think this shows that you should not trade in old friends for new ones. If you think he did not trade the old one for a new one, then why did the man glare at the gray robot when he got him the toast? it showed he doesn't care about his old friend...right?



Ven-DettaVen-Detta

Rated 5 / 5 stars February 20, 2005

Quite powerful

It reminded me of that part in short circuit 2 when they beat the crap out of that robot, and even though its just a robot you still feel horrible and sad for the robot. and the guy shaking in bed realizing just what hes done is great. excelent job


Matt-Merrill responds:

yES! I lOVE short circuit 2 and that was seriously what I was thinking about when I did that part of the movie!! I feel so bad for Johnny 5 :(
At least he got a happy ending...