Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 5, 2004 | 5:36 PM EDT
  • Daily 3rd Place October 6, 2004

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

EDIT - 06-03-2008:
WOW, finally I managed to retrieve my password, havn't been able to log in for years!, the recover password never worked for me. I'm editing some of my movies with this info to tell you all my site is now www.retrogaming4ever.org, AND Kung Fu 4 will not be completed as the source is long gone :(. I have recently started with Flash again and are only into programming games now, still a noob, I know the basics but it's enough to make some cool games, just need to be a little clever :). There is an updated version of Kung Fu - Remix on my site, I do not bother to upload it here. The site needs updates and some links and stuff might not work... donno when I'll do it :). A lot of my time I spend on www.RecordedAmigaGames.or g.

Note: Special 3 only works when standing in the center of the screen.

READ THIS BEFORE PLAYING!: (or don't post complaints or vote)

As many of you doesn't bother viewing the instructions in HOW TO PLAY, I will explain everything here + more.

You will recieve a password after you have lost all 3 lives and chosen NOT to continue playing.

You gain your first special on stage 2. So no specials on stage 1.

You can't pause when fighting a boss. It would just give you an advantage as you could see what their next move would be. It was also very tricky to code so I didn't other anyway.

You can't use specials on bosses. It would be too easy to win then.

The specials are done by pressing key 1-3, and I DON'T mean the numberpad keys. Too perform a special you have to have enough power. Special 1 requires ONE full powerbar, special 2 requires TWO full powerbars...

Some people have european keyboards and maybe other models aswell. You can set the punch and kick key in the Options. Default is Punch=Z, Kick=X.

I don't know why many of you are complaining over the game being too hard. Have you ever played another game before? This game is easy compared to most games, for example, Nintendo 8-bit games. Do you expect to beat the game in 5 mins??? I didn't spend a year programming this game so that people then could beat it during a coffee break. You DO get a password so you can continue.

Some of you have slow computers. I know how difficult it can be to play this game on a slow computer cuz I have tried it. Therefore I give you this alternate version, same game, but smaller view size:

www.KungFu-Remix.cjb.net

Use arrow keys and Enter/Space to navigate in the menu.

A remake of Nintendo 8-bit's Kung Fu.

This version features new music, sound effects, moves, bosses, enemies, specials, sprite artwork and much more.

I started working on this game over a year ago. At first I didn't know anything about coding. the first thing I learned was how to make a character walk. Then I learn more and more.

Want me to make more stuff like this? Then please motivate me (donate) :).

Special thanks to Ninja Dude for making most new sprites and to MortalMaxx for making sprites and Beta testing.....

*tip*
The enemies have some sort of AI. Just walk up to the enemies and punch/kick them. Don't just hold the kick/punch button waiting for the enemy to walk into you attack, that wont work as they will stop just outside your range and kick YOU!

Reviews


F-I-AF-I-A

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars October 10, 2004

A well remake Nintendo Classic...

I enjoyed playing this game for its gameplay and difficulty. In fact, it takes me around 1 hour to finish it on Easy and Hard. Here is my review.

1. Graphics- For those who complain about the sprites, those are 8 bit sprites, MEANT for 8 bit games. Just how it will be a 8 bit game when the sprites change to current graphics? Even though the sprites(Mostly) are from Nintendo and other companies, namely Konami and Capcom, you also include self made sprites. Take the decaptation and Specials as example.

2. Style- It amuses me how you can put all those classic game heroes into this game, even though they are of the wrong side. Like, I was thinking that there will be a Castlevania related thing in this game when playing Stage 3, and lo, Alucard in Stage 4. And the Special is also a nice addition.

3. Sound- I enjoys those old classic musics, like the TMNT ones. The sound effects are well chosen too.

4. Violence- The decaptation and other bloody mess, but not really appaling with 8 bit sprites.

5. Interactivity- Aside from rare Special Lag( As in, a second after the button is pressed.), this game functions perfectly. I can Punch and Kick easily. The option to turn off the violence is also a nice plus.

6. Humor- Megaman? Mario? And then Alucard? I expected an old hag boss after Bad Harald, and you succeed to impress me with surprise. Though, the story tends to be a little bit lame humor.

Overall- This game is a good classic remake, if not better than the original. Even though at Easy, this still proves to be challenging, as the Difficulty only alters the ammount of life you started with.

There is some bug I found in this game.
1. When the violence is turned off, you cannot behead enemies with a flying kick. But not to those Fighters In Blue, as their bodies will be blown to nothingness if finished with a flying kick. Same effect as the hadouken.
2. If you played on Hard and continue, the number of life will reset back to 3.
3. Stage 5 proves to be very time rushing, that you will time out most of the time if you are slow. Most factors are the long prebattle talk and the balls of energy Mr. X throws. Perhaps you meant it this way.


People find this review helpful!

TemascosTemascos

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 10, 2004

Well done!

This is a good challenge, and its very playable! Added to my favourites! I'm looking forward to the next part of the series, if only I played the proper game when I was younger!



Awakened-ZopharAwakened-Zophar

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 10, 2004

NICE BUT...

IF THERE WAS ONLINE MULTIPLAYER MODE ILL KILL YOU ALL AT THIS



GorddamnitGorddamnit

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 10, 2004

Perfect.

Mega Man is one tough mofucka.
I'll just keep playing though, I gotta kick his ass sometime.



Link-of-Hyrule-7Link-of-Hyrule-7

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 10, 2004

fan fucking tastic

Nicely done. One of the only flash games i have played all the way through. try making somthing COMPLETELY of your own. You could easily do it, seeing this.