Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jun 24, 2004 | 12:55 AM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice June 29, 2004
  • Review Crew Pick June 29, 2004
  • Daily Feature June 25, 2004

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

Balloon Duel was based off the 1984 NES game Balloon Fight, though I've taken some features out and introduced new ones.

Please be aware that this game was designed to be highly customizable. You can change the appearance of your character and even specify mp3's to be played from your harddrive. To enjoy these features, all you need is patience.

I'm also aware that the game can run rather slowly. In the options menu you can change screen size and reduce background animations to speed things up if necessary. Also, before you do any dueling, I seriously recommend you go to the Practice section. I've set up a tutorial there for first time players.

In case you were wondering, Balloon Duel has a below-average file size because it holds no music of it's own - all songs are played directly from your harddrive. Also, this was made with Flash 7, so the action script may not work with earlier versions. And the quit button uses Javascript. Well, that's it! Enjoy!
EDIT: Apparently now Flash's security protocol says I can't do that. Sadly, that means no music will work.

FAQ's:
Q1) Why don't you have your own music in there?
A1) To cut down on file size, mainly. But yeah, that's a good point. Next time I'll include default tracks.

Q2) Why'd you get rid of the platforms?! They was awesome.
A2) Yeah, they were! But can you imagine programming an A.I. to plot a path around the platforms to get to you without putting itself in a bad position? It worked well in the NES 'cause they more like flew around aimlessly.

Q3) Dude, you should make this an online multiplayer game!
A3) Two problems: Having grown up with dial-up connection, my internet know-how is crippling. The other: I'm not sure how to keep the game syncronized on two computers with different speeds. How do those commercial games do it?!

If you want to play this off of harddrive, you can ah...that is, here's the URL to the .swf file:
http://uploads.ungrounde
d.net/
177000/177120_Balloon_Du
el.swf

If you're any good with the internet, you'll know how to use that.

*Version history can be found by clicking on the version in the lower right of the startup screen.

Reviews


nero666nero666

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 17, 2004

dude...

it fuckin rocks i got some idas fore it talk at me my yahoo im is nero62003



SeryuSeryu

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 25, 2004

Great~

I liked it. I liked the style and all..Great game..make more!



BatBlade06BatBlade06

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 30, 2004

Brilliant!

This game is one of the best on NG i played it for about an hour or 2 but it presents so much fun for a long lasting effect...good job ^_^
and for everyone look why dont you check out my art and leave me a comment @ elfwood.lysator.liu.se/art/n/i/nickd/nickd.html just copy and paste that into your browser


People find this review helpful!

WestandMWestandM

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 1, 2004

AWESOME

This game is awesome. It combines my love of creating character designs with my love of Balloon Fight. I love you, I really do.



TheDopefishTheDopefish

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 23, 2004

Amazingly amazing!!!

That was the best game I played in NG. I just can't stop playing!And here is the PIN of my best character: 1W2P323D.R.2.E.L.1.6.5.4.6.2.F.1.H.15JGL.1BFR.9BPQ8.498H5.6
MP2M.498H5.540H1.498H5.14V26.6.6PIPC.2.1.498H5.4.1.498H5.7.H
.9.X.1.3.CN5.1ELD.X.O.O.1U8.1SV.TRU Have fun!