Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jun 24, 2004 | 12:55 AM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice June 29, 2004
  • Review Crew Pick June 29, 2004
  • Daily Feature June 25, 2004

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

Balloon Duel was based off the 1984 NES game Balloon Fight, though I've taken some features out and introduced new ones.

Please be aware that this game was designed to be highly customizable. You can change the appearance of your character and even specify mp3's to be played from your harddrive. To enjoy these features, all you need is patience.

I'm also aware that the game can run rather slowly. In the options menu you can change screen size and reduce background animations to speed things up if necessary. Also, before you do any dueling, I seriously recommend you go to the Practice section. I've set up a tutorial there for first time players.

In case you were wondering, Balloon Duel has a below-average file size because it holds no music of it's own - all songs are played directly from your harddrive. Also, this was made with Flash 7, so the action script may not work with earlier versions. And the quit button uses Javascript. Well, that's it! Enjoy!
EDIT: Apparently now Flash's security protocol says I can't do that. Sadly, that means no music will work.

FAQ's:
Q1) Why don't you have your own music in there?
A1) To cut down on file size, mainly. But yeah, that's a good point. Next time I'll include default tracks.

Q2) Why'd you get rid of the platforms?! They was awesome.
A2) Yeah, they were! But can you imagine programming an A.I. to plot a path around the platforms to get to you without putting itself in a bad position? It worked well in the NES 'cause they more like flew around aimlessly.

Q3) Dude, you should make this an online multiplayer game!
A3) Two problems: Having grown up with dial-up connection, my internet know-how is crippling. The other: I'm not sure how to keep the game syncronized on two computers with different speeds. How do those commercial games do it?!

If you want to play this off of harddrive, you can ah...that is, here's the URL to the .swf file:
http://uploads.ungrounde
d.net/
177000/177120_Balloon_Du
el.swf

If you're any good with the internet, you'll know how to use that.

*Version history can be found by clicking on the version in the lower right of the startup screen.

Reviews


psychotic-chimppsychotic-chimp

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 12, 2004

I Lov This Game!

Absoulutely great! so much customization, and the game is positively awesome! Super job my friend.


People find this review helpful!

SticksandstonesSticksandstones

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 25, 2004

This is for those that want to play Full Screen!

OK, click "PLAY THIS GAME!!!" and while the window's running, go to Start Menu, then Find\Search, (If u have Win XP, then click Search (on menu), then All Files and Folders, then click Search, wait for at least 1 result, then stop it, scroll down, and tell it to include hidden and system folders), and then copy this: 177120_Balloon_duel.swf and paste it on the search bar (If Win XP, Copy filename, stop search, scroll down and click Start a new search, go to all files and folders, and paste on bar that says All of part of the filename, and click Search, and copy Top file, that says 177120_Balloon Duel, and paste it to where ever you want it to go, and you are DONE!)) and click Find, and then copy file 177120_Balloon_Duel and paste it to where you want it, and YOU ARE DONE!!!!! YOU HAVE IT!!!! ( Plz find something to make .exe with it, It makes it more "High quality and Less Choppy"


People find this review helpful!

Murk05Murk05

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 10, 2004

Excellent work.

The nostalgia that this game brings back hits me like a brick, great job!



WELLHELLOTHEREWELLHELLOTHERE

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 22, 2005

fuck yeah

hell yeah dude make another this was one of the best games on ng



crazygamer88crazygamer88

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 7, 2008

Reliving the classics.

All I can say is this one is good. It's so addicting that I spent hours on it. @.@

Some Secrets: You know the PIN thing? For the 2nd and 3rd last part (ie: ***.***.XXX.XXX.***) after importing your character, replace the 3rd last with ZZZ and the 2nd last with ZZ. you should get a high rank and a lot of spare change


People find this review helpful!