Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jun 24, 2004 | 12:55 AM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice June 29, 2004
  • Review Crew Pick June 29, 2004
  • Daily Feature June 25, 2004

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

Balloon Duel was based off the 1984 NES game Balloon Fight, though I've taken some features out and introduced new ones.

Please be aware that this game was designed to be highly customizable. You can change the appearance of your character and even specify mp3's to be played from your harddrive. To enjoy these features, all you need is patience.

I'm also aware that the game can run rather slowly. In the options menu you can change screen size and reduce background animations to speed things up if necessary. Also, before you do any dueling, I seriously recommend you go to the Practice section. I've set up a tutorial there for first time players.

In case you were wondering, Balloon Duel has a below-average file size because it holds no music of it's own - all songs are played directly from your harddrive. Also, this was made with Flash 7, so the action script may not work with earlier versions. And the quit button uses Javascript. Well, that's it! Enjoy!
EDIT: Apparently now Flash's security protocol says I can't do that. Sadly, that means no music will work.

FAQ's:
Q1) Why don't you have your own music in there?
A1) To cut down on file size, mainly. But yeah, that's a good point. Next time I'll include default tracks.

Q2) Why'd you get rid of the platforms?! They was awesome.
A2) Yeah, they were! But can you imagine programming an A.I. to plot a path around the platforms to get to you without putting itself in a bad position? It worked well in the NES 'cause they more like flew around aimlessly.

Q3) Dude, you should make this an online multiplayer game!
A3) Two problems: Having grown up with dial-up connection, my internet know-how is crippling. The other: I'm not sure how to keep the game syncronized on two computers with different speeds. How do those commercial games do it?!

If you want to play this off of harddrive, you can ah...that is, here's the URL to the .swf file:
http://uploads.ungrounde
d.net/
177000/177120_Balloon_Du
el.swf

If you're any good with the internet, you'll know how to use that.

*Version history can be found by clicking on the version in the lower right of the startup screen.

Reviews


suppertimesuppertime

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 24, 2004

Blast from the past

1.Originol game was numero uno of the classics!
2. Totally customizable
3.Lots of weapons!
4.Only thing missing is a paintball gun lol
Summary=
This game rocks and the character you control can be whater you want them to be, even a zombie! or a pink person, or a purple people eater, mmm people....


People find this review helpful!

ToastClockToastClock

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 24, 2004

Best game on NG.

That's the best game I've played on NG.


People find this review helpful!

Sleep-Deprived-NinjaSleep-Deprived-Ninja

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 24, 2004

Bloody awsome.

That was so amazingly good. That was definitly the best flash game I have ever played. It must have taken ages with all the different weapons, clothes, hairstyles, etc. I didn't think it was possible to top your last production, especially with a game but you somehow achieved it. Well done.

The only problem I found was the backgrounds. I think you should have created the backgrounds, not used photos.



SmileGuySmileGuy

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 24, 2004

WOW.............

So you can make kick ass movies AND games? I salute you for making the best game on newgrounds...


People find this review helpful!

Zapster-XZapster-X

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 24, 2004

Play this game and know joy.

The question of whether mind-reading is an actual phenomenon or only a hoax has finally been answered. I say this due to Mouseklik's ability to tap into the innermost recesses of my gaming nostalgia, and pull out one of my favorite NES games.

To say this is good would be an understatement. The customizable music was a nice touch (For a fitting soundtrack, look around for Balloon Fight NES remixes in the Audio Portal or OverclockedRemix), and the rest of the game is as configurable. The in-depth character design had me wondering if the author was a fan of Gunbound.

With Great Graphics, 10 arenas, a random opponent generator, the previously mentioned custom jukebox, added weapons and power-ups, and the ability to play two-player (simultaneous!) makes for one hell of a 780k download. Even 56k Modem users will appreciate this game.

Only the semi-frequent AI hiccup brings this game down, but that's what 2player mode is for.

A must-play.


People find this review helpful!