Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jun 24, 2004 | 12:55 AM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice June 29, 2004
  • Review Crew Pick June 29, 2004
  • Daily Feature June 25, 2004

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

Balloon Duel was based off the 1984 NES game Balloon Fight, though I've taken some features out and introduced new ones.

Please be aware that this game was designed to be highly customizable. You can change the appearance of your character and even specify mp3's to be played from your harddrive. To enjoy these features, all you need is patience.

I'm also aware that the game can run rather slowly. In the options menu you can change screen size and reduce background animations to speed things up if necessary. Also, before you do any dueling, I seriously recommend you go to the Practice section. I've set up a tutorial there for first time players.

In case you were wondering, Balloon Duel has a below-average file size because it holds no music of it's own - all songs are played directly from your harddrive. Also, this was made with Flash 7, so the action script may not work with earlier versions. And the quit button uses Javascript. Well, that's it! Enjoy!
EDIT: Apparently now Flash's security protocol says I can't do that. Sadly, that means no music will work.

FAQ's:
Q1) Why don't you have your own music in there?
A1) To cut down on file size, mainly. But yeah, that's a good point. Next time I'll include default tracks.

Q2) Why'd you get rid of the platforms?! They was awesome.
A2) Yeah, they were! But can you imagine programming an A.I. to plot a path around the platforms to get to you without putting itself in a bad position? It worked well in the NES 'cause they more like flew around aimlessly.

Q3) Dude, you should make this an online multiplayer game!
A3) Two problems: Having grown up with dial-up connection, my internet know-how is crippling. The other: I'm not sure how to keep the game syncronized on two computers with different speeds. How do those commercial games do it?!

If you want to play this off of harddrive, you can ah...that is, here's the URL to the .swf file:
http://uploads.ungrounde
d.net/
177000/177120_Balloon_Du
el.swf

If you're any good with the internet, you'll know how to use that.

*Version history can be found by clicking on the version in the lower right of the startup screen.

Reviews


DopplarEffektDopplarEffekt

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 26, 2004

Addictive...in a good way.

Wow...it takes a lot in a game to have me sitting for hours trying to get everything in the game. The customizable music feature is revolutionary...it really adds to the fun of the game. Also, the fact that you get income and can personalize your guy's features/weapons is the reason it is so addictive. Great remake...keep it up!



citroen67citroen67

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars June 26, 2004

Great..

cool game!! make it an online multiplayer game..
my char. pin:
232X362P.7.B.D.J.3.8.1.2.D.H.E.2.H.3CAF9.6FKQG.9BPRS.4SMP4.
8DRSG.498MO.65RCL.6S71X.7938V.J.9CWDS.1.K.9CWDS.3.S.9CZJK.2.
1.3.3Y9.3.1R7L.6BL.4M9V.2AYBCX.1.0.J8.2T.TRU


People find this review helpful!

avatar-of-woeavatar-of-woe

Rated 4 / 5 stars June 26, 2004

F*cking awesome!

Very, very, very nice game. I love it! Just one little thing I think you should fix: There's no really player vs. computer challenge. It's too easy. I beat rank 100 computers from the start (with no additional equipment or so). So either make computer players above level 100 or make the ones on 100- better. Overall a very nice game with lots of options in making the fighter. Keep up the good work!



lil-j-manlil-j-man

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 26, 2004

change the 2 player controlls

in 2 player tab is 2 flap yer wings but like tab also scrolls through all links and pictures on the page amking it almos timpossible to stay up due to pictures on the game page


Mousekliks responds:

Whoah! Never realized that. I did all my testing on a Flash Projector, so I never realized that would happen. You can change the player 2 controls; I'll go and change the default settings.


SlicknSolidThugSlicknSolidThug

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 26, 2004

cool

yea listening to ur own music is cool.....Roll Out....lol yea its awsome cause u could like make different things that funny...totally agree with ThisChinkSays