Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jun 24, 2004 | 12:55 AM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice June 29, 2004
  • Review Crew Pick June 29, 2004
  • Daily Feature June 25, 2004

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

Balloon Duel was based off the 1984 NES game Balloon Fight, though I've taken some features out and introduced new ones.

Please be aware that this game was designed to be highly customizable. You can change the appearance of your character and even specify mp3's to be played from your harddrive. To enjoy these features, all you need is patience.

I'm also aware that the game can run rather slowly. In the options menu you can change screen size and reduce background animations to speed things up if necessary. Also, before you do any dueling, I seriously recommend you go to the Practice section. I've set up a tutorial there for first time players.

In case you were wondering, Balloon Duel has a below-average file size because it holds no music of it's own - all songs are played directly from your harddrive. Also, this was made with Flash 7, so the action script may not work with earlier versions. And the quit button uses Javascript. Well, that's it! Enjoy!
EDIT: Apparently now Flash's security protocol says I can't do that. Sadly, that means no music will work.

FAQ's:
Q1) Why don't you have your own music in there?
A1) To cut down on file size, mainly. But yeah, that's a good point. Next time I'll include default tracks.

Q2) Why'd you get rid of the platforms?! They was awesome.
A2) Yeah, they were! But can you imagine programming an A.I. to plot a path around the platforms to get to you without putting itself in a bad position? It worked well in the NES 'cause they more like flew around aimlessly.

Q3) Dude, you should make this an online multiplayer game!
A3) Two problems: Having grown up with dial-up connection, my internet know-how is crippling. The other: I'm not sure how to keep the game syncronized on two computers with different speeds. How do those commercial games do it?!

If you want to play this off of harddrive, you can ah...that is, here's the URL to the .swf file:
http://uploads.ungrounde
d.net/
177000/177120_Balloon_Du
el.swf

If you're any good with the internet, you'll know how to use that.

*Version history can be found by clicking on the version in the lower right of the startup screen.

Reviews


gamefire781gamefire781

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars May 12, 2011

balloon duel is awsome

I like the styles that you can give the charecters and every thing such as the game play but I didn't like the songs on there



sweatycrisissweatycrisis

Rated 2.5 / 5 stars April 19, 2011

Balloon Duel

Lets start by saying that we all know this is based on ballon fight. and we all know that ballon duel would turn out to be a good game right? meh somewhat. lets start by the thing that annoys me the most about this game is using insert as the flying button. that is definatly not a good button to use. thats probably the only reason this a bad score. you can customize your character basically anyway you want to but,there is only one mode type. you can change the backround and add a fish to the bottom,but thats about it. then you go into the classic ballon fight action. anyways this game is okay not great. 5/10 3/5.



ilikefrenchTOASTilikefrenchTOAST

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 20, 2011

Pretty cool.

If only things weren't to expensive.



NikodemusNikodemus

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 12, 2011

2004 and I still remember it

What a pity that there was no Online Multiplayer Mode, it would have been really really awesome. Often played this game with some buddies; if you got at least one guy who would play it with you, you should then really really give it a try. Definetly a 10/10, 5/5 and fav, a classic under the flash games for me.



fawkezzfawkezz

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 9, 2011

App Store

Can you make it for iphone/ ipad?
It could be a nice game in App Store!

Think about it!
:D