Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jun 24, 2004 | 12:55 AM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice June 29, 2004
  • Review Crew Pick June 29, 2004
  • Daily Feature June 25, 2004

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

Balloon Duel was based off the 1984 NES game Balloon Fight, though I've taken some features out and introduced new ones.

Please be aware that this game was designed to be highly customizable. You can change the appearance of your character and even specify mp3's to be played from your harddrive. To enjoy these features, all you need is patience.

I'm also aware that the game can run rather slowly. In the options menu you can change screen size and reduce background animations to speed things up if necessary. Also, before you do any dueling, I seriously recommend you go to the Practice section. I've set up a tutorial there for first time players.

In case you were wondering, Balloon Duel has a below-average file size because it holds no music of it's own - all songs are played directly from your harddrive. Also, this was made with Flash 7, so the action script may not work with earlier versions. And the quit button uses Javascript. Well, that's it! Enjoy!
EDIT: Apparently now Flash's security protocol says I can't do that. Sadly, that means no music will work.

FAQ's:
Q1) Why don't you have your own music in there?
A1) To cut down on file size, mainly. But yeah, that's a good point. Next time I'll include default tracks.

Q2) Why'd you get rid of the platforms?! They was awesome.
A2) Yeah, they were! But can you imagine programming an A.I. to plot a path around the platforms to get to you without putting itself in a bad position? It worked well in the NES 'cause they more like flew around aimlessly.

Q3) Dude, you should make this an online multiplayer game!
A3) Two problems: Having grown up with dial-up connection, my internet know-how is crippling. The other: I'm not sure how to keep the game syncronized on two computers with different speeds. How do those commercial games do it?!

If you want to play this off of harddrive, you can ah...that is, here's the URL to the .swf file:
http://uploads.ungrounde
d.net/
177000/177120_Balloon_Du
el.swf

If you're any good with the internet, you'll know how to use that.

*Version history can be found by clicking on the version in the lower right of the startup screen.

Reviews


XCaspeRXXCaspeRX

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 8, 2012

niice

lol i made sakura. dont mind the name Mc Faggy bc i didnt no who to make when i started. 252R1Y2P2V2V3D.K.E.1.4.2.1.1.1.E.F.A.
4.1.15JGY.1BJY.1BJS.1BFT.9D1BK.1BKL.1 RGEM.498H5.MX.2.1BGB.1.1.498H5.4.1.49 8H5.7.1.1.6BL.9.CN5.E9.1.3.0.1.57.2N.
TRU


People find this review helpful!

konamicode13konamicode13

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 18, 2011

Great game, smart author!

The game itself was a lot of fun, but the help section was also incredibly informative. I've always wondered how flash games managed to keep track of file information. I know exactly how this works now, which satisfied a lot of curiosity. The only reason I'm even bothering to write a review for a game that's been out so long is that this information was incredibly helpful for me, and I want to make sure people know about it in case they want to know as well.



StarHero-kunStarHero-kun

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 24, 2011

Only Thing It Needed Was Online Play

Plays Even Better Than The Original Balloon Fight It's Awesome Customizable Parts and Weapons Make This a Great Game If They Made an Online Version of This For 3DS it would totally get my buy.



KuneraKunera

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars August 17, 2011

Pretty fun!

I used to enjoy Balloon Fight quite a bit, and I also enjoyed playing this a few years back.



TraceofHatredTraceofHatred

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars August 15, 2011

erm. glitch.

I've played this game many times before, and loved it, and had it work fine,
but for some reason when I play now, no matter what the keys are configured to, or if they're just default, and no matter what character i play as, It won't flap, or move.

really a buzz kill man :/ I wanted to rock this game.