Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jun 24, 2004 | 12:55 AM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice June 29, 2004
  • Review Crew Pick June 29, 2004
  • Daily Feature June 25, 2004

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

Balloon Duel was based off the 1984 NES game Balloon Fight, though I've taken some features out and introduced new ones.

Please be aware that this game was designed to be highly customizable. You can change the appearance of your character and even specify mp3's to be played from your harddrive. To enjoy these features, all you need is patience.

I'm also aware that the game can run rather slowly. In the options menu you can change screen size and reduce background animations to speed things up if necessary. Also, before you do any dueling, I seriously recommend you go to the Practice section. I've set up a tutorial there for first time players.

In case you were wondering, Balloon Duel has a below-average file size because it holds no music of it's own - all songs are played directly from your harddrive. Also, this was made with Flash 7, so the action script may not work with earlier versions. And the quit button uses Javascript. Well, that's it! Enjoy!
EDIT: Apparently now Flash's security protocol says I can't do that. Sadly, that means no music will work.

FAQ's:
Q1) Why don't you have your own music in there?
A1) To cut down on file size, mainly. But yeah, that's a good point. Next time I'll include default tracks.

Q2) Why'd you get rid of the platforms?! They was awesome.
A2) Yeah, they were! But can you imagine programming an A.I. to plot a path around the platforms to get to you without putting itself in a bad position? It worked well in the NES 'cause they more like flew around aimlessly.

Q3) Dude, you should make this an online multiplayer game!
A3) Two problems: Having grown up with dial-up connection, my internet know-how is crippling. The other: I'm not sure how to keep the game syncronized on two computers with different speeds. How do those commercial games do it?!

If you want to play this off of harddrive, you can ah...that is, here's the URL to the .swf file:
http://uploads.ungrounde
d.net/
177000/177120_Balloon_Du
el.swf

If you're any good with the internet, you'll know how to use that.

*Version history can be found by clicking on the version in the lower right of the startup screen.

Reviews


JangJang

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars August 8, 2004

Great Game

I thought it was going to be lame because of the name but it was actually pretty cool. I liked how we could pick our own music and customize our character 'n stuff. Awesome job.



RtX-Riku-fDRtX-Riku-fD

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 8, 2004

Great

Its a real good game, and i found out so many easy ways on how to get money fast, and get alot of rank points easily.

But i wont tell. Ruins the game. =)



phillycheese56phillycheese56

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 7, 2004

Extremely Good

This is exactly how a game should be. Extremely customizable, and extremely well made. Just creating a fighter and editing their clothes, hair, balloons, etc., makes this game worthwhile. Add in four fighting modes and a ranking system, and this becomes one of the greatest newgrounds games of all time. This is the most fun I've had with a newgrounds game since ganguro girl (heh heh heh).



mmjitmmjit

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 7, 2004

Very Fun!

Very good game.. one of my fav's. I enjoy the style...it kinda reminds me of gunbound but good nonetheless. The harddrive thing is the best part and so is the clothing choice. If u make another make sure to add more styles and to put some better background images. Try making some of your own so it blends with the characters instead of using pics. Excellent job!



SnookiesSnookies

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 7, 2004

Great way to unwind!

This game is great, I played the orignal Ballon Fight and its no where near as good as this, Its annoying that you have to upload your music as I have no music on my PC, but i dont need music, its also a great way to relax, lol, Really good game, though I still havent figured out the glasses and stuff yet...REALLY GOOD!