Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jun 24, 2004 | 12:55 AM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice June 29, 2004
  • Review Crew Pick June 29, 2004
  • Daily Feature June 25, 2004

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

Balloon Duel was based off the 1984 NES game Balloon Fight, though I've taken some features out and introduced new ones.

Please be aware that this game was designed to be highly customizable. You can change the appearance of your character and even specify mp3's to be played from your harddrive. To enjoy these features, all you need is patience.

I'm also aware that the game can run rather slowly. In the options menu you can change screen size and reduce background animations to speed things up if necessary. Also, before you do any dueling, I seriously recommend you go to the Practice section. I've set up a tutorial there for first time players.

In case you were wondering, Balloon Duel has a below-average file size because it holds no music of it's own - all songs are played directly from your harddrive. Also, this was made with Flash 7, so the action script may not work with earlier versions. And the quit button uses Javascript. Well, that's it! Enjoy!
EDIT: Apparently now Flash's security protocol says I can't do that. Sadly, that means no music will work.

FAQ's:
Q1) Why don't you have your own music in there?
A1) To cut down on file size, mainly. But yeah, that's a good point. Next time I'll include default tracks.

Q2) Why'd you get rid of the platforms?! They was awesome.
A2) Yeah, they were! But can you imagine programming an A.I. to plot a path around the platforms to get to you without putting itself in a bad position? It worked well in the NES 'cause they more like flew around aimlessly.

Q3) Dude, you should make this an online multiplayer game!
A3) Two problems: Having grown up with dial-up connection, my internet know-how is crippling. The other: I'm not sure how to keep the game syncronized on two computers with different speeds. How do those commercial games do it?!

If you want to play this off of harddrive, you can ah...that is, here's the URL to the .swf file:
http://uploads.ungrounde
d.net/
177000/177120_Balloon_Du
el.swf

If you're any good with the internet, you'll know how to use that.

*Version history can be found by clicking on the version in the lower right of the startup screen.

Reviews


Tanaka0Tanaka0

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars July 1, 2010

awesome!!

that game is just awesome
i think it'd be even more awesome though if it had an online multiplayer mode


People find this review helpful!

MattmcmattMattmcmatt

Rated 1 / 5 stars June 29, 2010

darn

i keep LOSING 'cause there's no instructions; THAT would be HELPFUL.



3nflame3nflame

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 23, 2010

Nice

Love this game have plehed it over and over again. This game is pretty simple but very fun


People find this review helpful!

kirbykid77kirbykid77

Rated 3 / 5 stars June 5, 2010

strange but good

I like it but I think you should get more money when you win. My best was only $18.50.



iCleoniCleon

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 30, 2010

Nostalgia

It's been such a long time since I've played this game. Years man.
Everytime I think of NG, Alien Hominid, Chainsaw the Children, Krinkel's stuff, and this game come to mind.

Thank you for being such a huge inspiration to me.


People find this review helpful!