Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jun 22, 2004 | 7:54 PM EDT
  • Daily 5th Place June 23, 2004

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • Ghost Motel
    Ghost Motel The ghastly interactive story adventure series!

Author Comments

3D Animation: Violet-AIm
Voice: XwaynecoltX

Ghost Motel 9
This is a 3D animated movie, which was imported into flash. Previous episodes are in 2D. If you have a slow computer, click the "Toggle Quality" button to change to low quality because it might be graphically intense, and this will help it run smoother.
Ghost Motel 8 will be coming out soon hopefully. Ghost Motel 9 starts out with Joseph trying his first mission as a demon hunter.

Absent from flash after this was made. Any posts or reviews made by me from May 2005-Jan 2011 was not by me. Somebody broke into my account and made posts without my consent.

Reviews


TigerChickTigerChick

Rated 4 / 5 stars November 6, 2004

a step too far I think

Woah i really like this change of style you've willing made here! The graphics were much better and for the first time get a 10 because it was so well animated and its cool seeing the 2D Ghost Motel we all know and love being transported into that place that is rarely tried....3D! This is excellent but i feel it takes away the main Ghost Motel feel of it, we all know GM for the expressionless dead-like voices and cute 2d graphics and thats taken away in this really. I guess this shows with ghost motel a progress so great doesn't really work. Anyhow excellent nonetheless well done again, I have enjoyed watching and reviewing all of your Ghost motels =D

You have just been reviewed by
~T_C


Violet-AIM responds:

Thanks for the comments Tiger_Chick. As most reviewers have commented, 2D didn't work well for ghost motel, so I'll just leave this as a one time experimental thing for ghost motel. I'm still studying 3D animation, though I probably won't try to put 3D in flash anymore.


DukeOfOxfordDukeOfOxford

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars October 26, 2004

Good, but too short

Again, I like how you're willing to try new things with this series. I'm sure creating that 3D animation was really hard. In any case, even on low quality mode the animation was pretty jerky, and I have a decently fast computer (it's a 486). It's also a very short episode, but that's what you get for using 3D. I think it was worth it to see something new, but obviously 2D works better for this series.

Oh, and I'm just kidding about having a 486 :) It's a Pentium 4. At least I didn't say Apple IIGS. Remember those? ;)


Violet-AIM responds:

It was jerky because I had deleted some keyframes because it was giving me problems, was trying to reduce the info, since it was overloading the flash program. The actual animation I made in 3D was about 2min. long, and I took my time with the animation, like instead of 1 sec for something, it would be about 5 sec, so it'd be smoother. Unfortunately, it wouldn't fit in a small file size. Anyhow, I agree that I will keep ghost motel in 2D flash form. No, never had an Apple, but Pentium 4 is pretty good. Thanks for the review DukeOfOxford. :)


ramagiramagi

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars October 13, 2004

needs more

Too short. Thsi is really nice it mssing the fun adventure that the others have. I understand to do that in #D would require a lot of owrk tim and effort. I thought the look of this was really sweet.
This just needed more story too it.


Violet-AIM responds:

True, it was too short, and I'm not too crazy about it myself. It was more of a test, just to see how 3D would come out in flash. So now I see it is best to keep GM in 2D since there is more freedom and I can do more with it. Thanks for the feedback ramagi.


mightclarkmightclark

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars September 5, 2004

graphics were well done much to short

i must worn enyone who watches this that inless your computer is above a top notch computer (maby rich people) then it will skip like a few scene or something im not sure and i also have a top notch internet connection


Violet-AIM responds:

Well when I first made this, to be imported in flash, I had it as a sequence of jpg's, and was trying to preserve space, so things happened very quickly and frames were cut. But in the actual one, it turned out to be 2.5 minutes, with smoother animation, and not so skippy or jumpy like that. However, I am quite limited in what I could send in here or put into flash. The high quality avi file was way too high file size to be put in here. I don't know if I would send another 3D animation into flash. If I did, I would probably try to find a way to put more into it, if possible, and also, it probably wouldn't be a ghost motel 3D, but some other subject.


j00biej00bie

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 6, 2004

Amazing visuals!

Holy shitdoh, this is BY FAR, the most graphics intense thing I've seen shit out of you guys!
Possibly within the top 10 of graphical intensity on all of Newgrounds!
Great stuff! This movie tops All previous Ghost Motels (except for 8, becuase you guys apparently don't know how to count). Where is it anyways (Ep.8)?

Anyways, still... superb stuff, I still can't get over the visuals of it, I simply loved it!

First 10/10 in this series Im giving you!


Violet-AIM responds:

Thanks jOObie for the nice review! This probably will be the only time you see 3D animation in Ghost Motel. There's too much restrictions, especially when it's imported into flash. Anyways, ep.8 (the game) is still being worked on. We're hoping to get it finished and released soon. :)