Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
May 2, 2001 | 5:09 AM EDT
  • Daily Feature May 3, 2001

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

This is the fourth Jamurai cartoon from Dreadfully Slick Developments, who first hit NewGrounds with The Little Jamurai. Banghai Moon is Part Three of the Loud Song of Silence cartoon series. Parts One and two can be seen at DreadfullySlick.com.
We post a lot of responses to reviews so, look through them often to read what we have to say bout what you have to say about our work.

This file was updated 2/16/03 with a higher quality sound because the era of 56k is swiftly passing away.

Reviews


IcelancerIcelancer

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars May 3, 2001

Overrated

Definitely doesn't deserve to be the feature of the day. However, it was not that bad, so I'd give a a 7 overall and a 3 for normal voting. Improve the work, I think you have talent.


People find this review helpful!

krublykrubly

Rated 2 / 5 stars May 3, 2001

crap

good art and sounds, but the story line is crap.


People find this review helpful!

fink5731fink5731

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars May 3, 2001

bad-ass cartoon man

i swear to god someone needs to smack that dumb bitch nemos gurl upside the head. this is an awesome clash between kung fu/samurai movies and genre with hip hop. there needs to more of this stuff out there. its not a steriotype either, if your dumb ass actually watched a kung fu/kurasawa movie, it was an kick-ass take on it. i can't wait to see more.



411411

Rated 4 / 5 stars May 3, 2001

What exactly is Sterotype, NeMOs_GuRL?

I don't know why the hell you bloody people get so damned up tight over stupid shit on the portal, you don't goto the fucking portal to find a politically correct movie, you go to the portal to find stupid movies/very well animated movies.



Bullet-BillBullet-Bill

Rated 0 / 5 stars May 3, 2001

one word for you people: sterotype

i would give this movie a 5 if only it wasn't so stupid. it's people like you that make this image of an asian person so that other people who watches this movie automatically assumes that an asian person: wears a cone for a hat, all about fighting and stupid karate yells, and a gong sound whenever something dramatic happens or when an important character shows up. this movie is so culturally wrong. ninjas are from japan. the setting is a mixture of chinese and japanese culture. karate is japanese. kung fu is chinese. get that in your freakin' heads! i absolutely hate it when ignorant people mix these two TOTALLY different cultures up. because of all these reasons, i'm giving this movie a X.


dreadslick responds:

Hey, NeMOs,
We appreciate your passion for sure, but I have to tell you you're reading too much into our toon. For one, EVERYONE in the cartoon is BLACK. There are no Asians in the toon. The setting is an amalgam of cultures. How many Boomboxes were there in the ancient Asian cultures?
What were you watching? No one mentions either Kung Fu or Karate in Banghai Moon.
Ignorance is when someone makes judgements about something they weren't paying attention to. We're not mixing cultures up, we're mixing them TOGETHER. American Hip Hop culture, Dynastic China and Feudal Japan. That's Okay with you isn't it? Or should those of Asian background stop break dancing, listening to Hip Hop and wearing American brand clothes?
Watch the toon again, NeMOs, this time PAY ATTENTION. All those things you saw before, were all in your head, not in the cartoon.
We should know.
We made it.
-Dread