Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
May 1, 2004 | 9:12 PM EDT
  • Daily Feature May 3, 2004
  • Weekly 2nd Place May 4, 2004

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • Flash Portal History: 2004
    Flash Portal History: 2004 The disturbing news of multiple artist deaths is washed over by the Numa Numa craze.
  • Goth
    Goth Dark and twisted, just like you.

Author Comments

Hello Newgrounds, long time no see...
From the creator of "Aura" comes a brand new [quite old by now, actually..] flash production - SMILE! .
What was to be quick side project turned into a beast that took me over 3 months... Three months of forsaking and returning, three months of occasional work suicides and sleepless nights...

as always, NOTE: May not be liked by everyone, but was never meant to be liked by everyone. If you're here only to watch funny mario parodies, then you can skip this movie now.

Enough nagging. Watch the movie.
And SMILE!!

(There are quite many people that get confused by the ending. Just to let you know - yes, it's supposed to be the way it is. )

Reviews


wadlowwadlow

Rated 5 / 5 stars 3 days ago

I remember seeing this a while back, it really freaked me out. The concept behind this animation is really something different from other stuff you see on newgrounds. This is so dark, and can be interpreted in so many different ways, is what really makes this animation interesting.

The animation is well done, and though the character design for this type of animation is certainly a bit strange, it fits well.

Watching it now years later and realizing how dark it actually is gives it an amazing quality. Something that I haven't felt before from watching a flash animation. Its just amazing.



HolyShockHolyShock

Rated 5 / 5 stars February 10, 2014

I don't know why people are banging on about propoganda. I saw this movie to be more like the guy getting killed is an outsider because he doesn't smile and therefore is outside of what is socialy accepted or preferred.

It's like when people tell you to smile when you don't want to, they're asking you to conform to the general idea that everyone should be happy and wear a face rather than display how they're really feeling.


People find this review helpful!

Hound8Hound8

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 6, 2013

Very interesting animation symbolizing propaganda. I think the victim was suppose to be warning to all who dont share that propaganda. (in thise case to those who dont smile). Propagnada is cruel lie, which is cheap way to buy trust from those who believe it. Well thats my opinion anyways.


People find this review helpful!

NoisyNoisy

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 9, 2013

the expressions were excelent.

but i mean, was the disco ball joke necessary?...(maybe yes)

An excelent piece though



Deathwing43Deathwing43

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 6, 2013

Man, how could you say this is crap? This is one of the best movies I've ever seen on Newgrounds. The meaning behind it is a little... Hard to grasp. But I don't think there really is any true meaning behind it. Your argument makes absolutely no sense though. How is the government forcing us to live life due to propaganda? Propaganda is a form of media used to rally, scare, or influence people to one side. (Uncle Sam is propaganda because he was influencing people to join the Army.) It's reviews/comments like these that make me wonder why stupid people are allowed on the internet.

Great movie though. I'm not quite sure what the true meaning behind it is, but in all honesty, some movies just don't have a clear cut meaning behind them. They're made to entertain, and in that respect, this flash did a great job of doing that.


People find this review helpful!