Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
May 1, 2004 | 9:12 PM EDT
  • Daily Feature May 3, 2004
  • Weekly 2nd Place May 4, 2004

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • Goth
    Goth Dark and twisted, just like you.

Author Comments

Hello Newgrounds, long time no see...
From the creator of "Aura" comes a brand new [quite old by now, actually..] flash production - SMILE! .
What was to be quick side project turned into a beast that took me over 3 months... Three months of forsaking and returning, three months of occasional work suicides and sleepless nights...

as always, NOTE: May not be liked by everyone, but was never meant to be liked by everyone. If you're here only to watch funny mario parodies, then you can skip this movie now.

Enough nagging. Watch the movie.
And SMILE!!

(There are quite many people that get confused by the ending. Just to let you know - yes, it's supposed to be the way it is. )

Reviews


mandogmandog

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 16, 2012

You know what they say, the best message, is the silent one.


People find this review helpful!

senseofeternitysenseofeternity

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 11, 2012

Well executed (no pun intended)!
I found the echoing, ambient music, as well as the black and white, cold visual feel quite fitting. Even before getting deeper into the clip, the viewer feels the tone is of something askew.
The outfits of the seated evil-doers are notably what the media portrays as what is "necessary to be accepted". Parallel to the signs of demanding smiles. I noticed that the Pariah finally submits to conforming pressure after the third threat; the number three being a symbol of completion, it's like the completion of total social slavery. The eye twitch as he forces a self-grin adds to characterization. Further thoughtful details in the clip are recognized and appreciated by me.
I feel compelled to say that this reminds me of the novel "Brave New World." The automatic mass smiles, the lack of individualism, and the foul physical exchanges, towards the end, that take place -- despite the signs of a conspicuously deprived atmosphere. The free-thinker ultimately dying, celebration from others following suit.
A profoundly sad, but true, statement you have symbolized through this concentrated movie.


People find this review helpful!

SweetxInsanitySweetxInsanity

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 28, 2011

wonderful...simply wonderful..

Bravo to the creator


People find this review helpful!

JFFJFF

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 25, 2011

amazing

what a great comment on our current system. great.


People find this review helpful!

micomodesto002micomodesto002

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 18, 2011

man im dead if this robot thingy get me

man to say the truth i cant smile a thing even my gf cant make me smile but i thing in this world make me smile and that is the ending part of this video


People find this review helpful!