Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
May 1, 2004 | 9:12 PM EDT
  • Daily Feature May 3, 2004
  • Weekly 2nd Place May 4, 2004

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • Flash Portal History: 2004
    Flash Portal History: 2004 The disturbing news of multiple artist deaths is washed over by the Numa Numa craze.
  • Goth
    Goth Dark and twisted, just like you.

Author Comments

Hello Newgrounds, long time no see...
From the creator of "Aura" comes a brand new [quite old by now, actually..] flash production - SMILE! .
What was to be quick side project turned into a beast that took me over 3 months... Three months of forsaking and returning, three months of occasional work suicides and sleepless nights...

as always, NOTE: May not be liked by everyone, but was never meant to be liked by everyone. If you're here only to watch funny mario parodies, then you can skip this movie now.

Enough nagging. Watch the movie.
And SMILE!!

(There are quite many people that get confused by the ending. Just to let you know - yes, it's supposed to be the way it is. )

Reviews


pikminlinkpikminlink

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars May 26, 2012

Now thats what i call dark and very evil it was great and adding pause to it great until the the end.Where did the drama go.Good untill the end.



stabika67stabika67

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 25, 2012

I am truly amazed. Even though it was a tortured, bloody, madness death, it still conveyed a great number of messages, of individuality, how the government functions, what happens to those that disagree with the big corporations, etc. Even though others may dislike this, i find that there is a deep message behind this, and makes a deep message to those who are stuck in the in-crowds of school, and life in general. Don't be ashamed or feel outcasted just cuz you chose not be like everybody else! "If the culture doesn't fit you, dont buy it." -Morrie Shwartz


People find this review helpful!

UltimateFalconFartUltimateFalconFart

Rated 5 / 5 stars April 27, 2012

Honestly, I think there are several messages here. Mostly I think that this is about individualism and being a free-thinker, two messages that most people (read: the torturers) don't understand. They are the 'lowest common denominator', the people that the media wishes to get to the most.

The animation here is VERY good for 2004, and I'd even go as far to say it looks like most 2009 flashes. The subtle face-twitches from the protagonist AND the torturers were in great detail, so I see you really worked hard on this monster of a metaphor.

Great flash man, 5/5 stars.


People find this review helpful!

mandogmandog

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 16, 2012

You know what they say, the best message, is the silent one.


People find this review helpful!

senseofeternitysenseofeternity

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 11, 2012

Well executed (no pun intended)!
I found the echoing, ambient music, as well as the black and white, cold visual feel quite fitting. Even before getting deeper into the clip, the viewer feels the tone is of something askew.
The outfits of the seated evil-doers are notably what the media portrays as what is "necessary to be accepted". Parallel to the signs of demanding smiles. I noticed that the Pariah finally submits to conforming pressure after the third threat; the number three being a symbol of completion, it's like the completion of total social slavery. The eye twitch as he forces a self-grin adds to characterization. Further thoughtful details in the clip are recognized and appreciated by me.
I feel compelled to say that this reminds me of the novel "Brave New World." The automatic mass smiles, the lack of individualism, and the foul physical exchanges, towards the end, that take place -- despite the signs of a conspicuously deprived atmosphere. The free-thinker ultimately dying, celebration from others following suit.
A profoundly sad, but true, statement you have symbolized through this concentrated movie.


People find this review helpful!