Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
May 1, 2004 | 9:12 PM EDT
  • Daily Feature May 3, 2004
  • Weekly 2nd Place May 4, 2004

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • Goth
    Goth Dark and twisted, just like you.

Author Comments

Hello Newgrounds, long time no see...
From the creator of "Aura" comes a brand new [quite old by now, actually..] flash production - SMILE! .
What was to be quick side project turned into a beast that took me over 3 months... Three months of forsaking and returning, three months of occasional work suicides and sleepless nights...

as always, NOTE: May not be liked by everyone, but was never meant to be liked by everyone. If you're here only to watch funny mario parodies, then you can skip this movie now.

Enough nagging. Watch the movie.
And SMILE!!

(There are quite many people that get confused by the ending. Just to let you know - yes, it's supposed to be the way it is. )

Reviews


ZaphernithZaphernith

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 11, 2004

Amazing.

Nice animation. The concept if very moving for me since it reminds me with similar historical events of cruelty like the concentration camps or slavery. The visualization of watching a person (or thing) in this case) be forced to practice or perform unwanted acts is horrifying and very sad. As depicted here, it is obedience or death in those cases. Very nice work.



monkeytailmonkeytail

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 10, 2004

that was fucking great

absolutely fucking brilliant. the irony is awesome. its so goddamn sadistic i love it. gives u socieaty in a couple of years. absolutely brilliant. i love u. make more. not that u need to, that says it all.



AstrixAstrix

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 10, 2004

Awsome.

this realy was one of the best flash's i've ever seen here. so sad so true, this is how life are nowdays.. Keep the good work up!



I-am-Iron-ManI-am-Iron-Man

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 9, 2004

Even my ex-boss didn't go that far at McDonald's.

Sure, forced smiles are, have been, and will continue to be, a Nazi rule. But this is where my theory was proven. Mad props!



SS-WhoreSS-Whore

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 9, 2004

*gasp* amazing!

This really affects me. I don't know if I interpreted it the way it's supposed to be, but I think I have some idea. The first time I saw this, I actually cried. Really beautiful. Keep it up.


People find this review helpful!