Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
May 1, 2004 | 9:12 PM EDT
  • Daily Feature May 3, 2004
  • Weekly 2nd Place May 4, 2004

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • Goth
    Goth Dark and twisted, just like you.

Author Comments

Hello Newgrounds, long time no see...
From the creator of "Aura" comes a brand new [quite old by now, actually..] flash production - SMILE! .
What was to be quick side project turned into a beast that took me over 3 months... Three months of forsaking and returning, three months of occasional work suicides and sleepless nights...

as always, NOTE: May not be liked by everyone, but was never meant to be liked by everyone. If you're here only to watch funny mario parodies, then you can skip this movie now.

Enough nagging. Watch the movie.
And SMILE!!

(There are quite many people that get confused by the ending. Just to let you know - yes, it's supposed to be the way it is. )

Reviews


Cure4theITCH11Cure4theITCH11

Rated 4 / 5 stars October 19, 2004

....

i first saw this and im like...holy shit

one of the most disturbing things to see i say

still a well made movie..



caninecannibalcaninecannibal

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 17, 2004

mind-blowing

its like a george orwell novel come to life.

you are amazing.


People find this review helpful!

NoIdentityNoIdentity

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 16, 2004

Wow!

This one is really amazing. Nice parody of the modern society. keep it up.



Nana6767Nana6767

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars October 15, 2004

sad but...

This is sooo ture if yaz dont smile something might happen.Great art work!keep it up!!!!!!!!!



1337vernkilla1337vernkilla

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 14, 2004

Amazing

Really, beautiful work. What I got from it, society is forcing you to be cheery, often times I've been told I need to smile...I smile plenty when there's something worth smiling about. But everyone expects you to be happy and chipper all the time. The guy was being persecuted for not being happy, I assume the nails represented comments and insults, barbs if you will. Then the ending simply showed that the people who are forcing their happiness on others are simply robots, programmed to be happy, incapable of really thinking about what a smile and being happy should mean. And then they just go about their carnal business like normal disgusting humans do. Bravo.


People find this review helpful!