Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
May 1, 2004 | 9:12 PM EDT
  • Daily Feature May 3, 2004
  • Weekly 2nd Place May 4, 2004

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • Flash Portal History: 2004
    Flash Portal History: 2004 The disturbing news of multiple artist deaths is washed over by the Numa Numa craze.
  • Goth
    Goth Dark and twisted, just like you.

Author Comments

Hello Newgrounds, long time no see...
From the creator of "Aura" comes a brand new [quite old by now, actually..] flash production - SMILE! .
What was to be quick side project turned into a beast that took me over 3 months... Three months of forsaking and returning, three months of occasional work suicides and sleepless nights...

as always, NOTE: May not be liked by everyone, but was never meant to be liked by everyone. If you're here only to watch funny mario parodies, then you can skip this movie now.

Enough nagging. Watch the movie.
And SMILE!!

(There are quite many people that get confused by the ending. Just to let you know - yes, it's supposed to be the way it is. )

Reviews


darkwolf190darkwolf190

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 27, 2005

Powerful movie

oh my god man that is so true in our life style i am a huge depressed downer so down with the order of smile. awesome movie



AsphodelAsphodel

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 21, 2005

Brilliant. So accurate.

I've watched this flash numerous times over the past few months and every time I just sit quietly and think afterwards.

My perception of it is as follows:

In order to be accepted whole heartedly into today's society, one must present themselves with a happy, carefree aire; with a smile. If one does not do this, then one will not be welcomed by the general masses. The masses would sooner be rid of a downer than to be dragged down by that pesky fact of life we call reality with its ups and downs. The ending, to me, represents just that: Society ridding itself of a downer and then carrying on as if nothing had happend.

Though it fits in with society, I personally feel that this is almost a perfect reflection of a typical high school atmosphere.

Thank you very much...It was very well done...Very.


People find this review helpful!

jimmy-hjimmy-h

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars January 21, 2005

Harsh

Smile or we kill you then procede to have an orgy.
So true.



cyanite6cyanite6

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars January 19, 2005

this is great! nice work

i like the fluidity throughout this. quite unexpected ending as well. i'm glad that there is no speech; gives this a more potent impact.


People find this review helpful!

gothslaya88gothslaya88

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 16, 2005

....

this is by far the greatest thing i have ever seen on newgrounds. great job, and id love to see more like this!!!