Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
May 1, 2004 | 9:12 PM EDT
  • Daily Feature May 3, 2004
  • Weekly 2nd Place May 4, 2004

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • Goth
    Goth Dark and twisted, just like you.

Author Comments

Hello Newgrounds, long time no see...
From the creator of "Aura" comes a brand new [quite old by now, actually..] flash production - SMILE! .
What was to be quick side project turned into a beast that took me over 3 months... Three months of forsaking and returning, three months of occasional work suicides and sleepless nights...

as always, NOTE: May not be liked by everyone, but was never meant to be liked by everyone. If you're here only to watch funny mario parodies, then you can skip this movie now.

Enough nagging. Watch the movie.
And SMILE!!

(There are quite many people that get confused by the ending. Just to let you know - yes, it's supposed to be the way it is. )

Reviews


ZeruelZeroZeruelZero

Rated 5 / 5 stars February 3, 2005

One of my fav...

I always loved this submission, while I didnt like the very very end, (sure it was an ok joke ending at the end, the submission was just so serious in a good way I thought it should be left out), It still one of the very best and unique submissions I have ever seen. I hope to see more of this style in the future.



KefkaTheThirdKefkaTheThird

Rated 5 / 5 stars February 3, 2005

awesome

absofuckinglutely awesome
you should definetly watch

onething I think when he started to smile though he should have spit at them


People find this review helpful!

paanepaane

Rated 5 / 5 stars February 3, 2005

whoa..... just whoa

it reminds me of all the perfect kids at school that wuold make fun of me because i i was different



warrior-soulwarrior-soul

Rated 5 / 5 stars February 2, 2005

This touched me...

in ways no other animatin has. It has a feel to it that reminds me of the conformers who used to torture me when I was younger. I hated them, but I couldn't help bu tlike them as well, envy their beauty, whereas i was seen as ugly. Very expertly expressed piece.
I look forward to more from you.



BabelBabel

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars January 28, 2005

Beautiful portrayal of a non-conformist's misery

...or so I presume, but perhaps I'm taking it too far from face-value... anyways, on to the basic review. Graphically intense violence and beautiful considering the shapes, the "music" was the best atmosphere setter of them all, in my most humble opinion. Although normally I find mutilation pretty darn funny, I couldn't help but feel empathy towards the protagonist, and thus gave humor a 1 for his inevitable destruction. Even still, however, especially because of that empathy, I give this flash a high 9 for overall score. Excellent work!


People find this review helpful!