Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
May 1, 2004 | 9:12 PM EDT
  • Daily Feature May 3, 2004
  • Weekly 2nd Place May 4, 2004

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • Flash Portal History: 2004
    Flash Portal History: 2004 The disturbing news of multiple artist deaths is washed over by the Numa Numa craze.
  • Goth
    Goth Dark and twisted, just like you.

Author Comments

Hello Newgrounds, long time no see...
From the creator of "Aura" comes a brand new [quite old by now, actually..] flash production - SMILE! .
What was to be quick side project turned into a beast that took me over 3 months... Three months of forsaking and returning, three months of occasional work suicides and sleepless nights...

as always, NOTE: May not be liked by everyone, but was never meant to be liked by everyone. If you're here only to watch funny mario parodies, then you can skip this movie now.

Enough nagging. Watch the movie.
And SMILE!!

(There are quite many people that get confused by the ending. Just to let you know - yes, it's supposed to be the way it is. )

Reviews


Redmoon819Redmoon819

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars March 9, 2013

this is just so creepy



Darkghost22Darkghost22

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 6, 2013

what this says the me is:''obey or die''

''you will never be diffrent''
''your nothing special''
''you will be like anyone else''

the want you to give up your soul...because if anyone will think...or will try to be diffrent the world wont be perfect... the only want a perfect world whit brainless people who dont think. just eat sleep work and then die



DonnomasterDonnomaster

Rated 5 / 5 stars February 18, 2013

i remember this watching when i was 10... found this so disturbing


People find this review helpful!

carmelo101carmelo101

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 11, 2012

Masterpieace


People find this review helpful!

CrazycheeseCrazycheese

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 22, 2012

Fantastic! I am watching this on Linux, under Firefox with GNASH (not flash) and it works!

Photogasm, you are correct.

I feel the original title of the movie was... "OBEY"? But you changed it to SMILE which is still ok, since its written in capitals to transfer the hidden meaning.

SMILE = imitate "well being"
Spikes = Ballistic weaponry (bullets)
Shooting someone into obedience = our society. We hurt others to make them follow our agenda, which we think is "good"
Masks = not cincere
Robots = contrast to living, feeling person, is an empty soulless person, hull, who obeys. Notice, unlike the protagonist, the judges NEVER change their facial expression. There is an exception, when guy tries to OBEY, but I think it was mis-used to depict the fact that they DONT care for the guy, they care if he obeys or not.
Sex = amusing each other. Shown probably to even more contrast, that they do NOT care for the guy which they killed.

The program:
They care only for the "program" - person smiles = becomes same as they = release. person resists = punish.

The "judges" themselve: if they execute the program = sex. If they don't = same fate as guy (guessing).

I also liked several moments:
- the moment when guy tried to smile after first shoot and then tried to smile through pain.
- the moment when he realised he is bleeding anyway and that they don't care
- the moment very near just before he died, where he understand that his death is unevitable and he recklessly moves eyes still trying to prevent it somehow
- the moment when they disintegrated him into void, showing that they care ZERO about him. Can only result from exactly same butchering, which leads to very HIGH concentration of EGO.

This art is definately a masterpiece and simply deserves several Oscars. Not joking.


People find this review helpful!