Support NATA 2014

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Apr 23, 2004 | 2:26 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice April 27, 2004
  • Review Crew Pick April 28, 2004
  • Daily Feature April 24, 2004

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • Anime
    Anime We've received tons of anime-themed submissions over the years!
  • Final Fantasy
    Final Fantasy The world's favorite RPG now has your favorite Flash spoofs!
  • Flash Portal History: 2004
    Flash Portal History: 2004 The disturbing news of multiple artist deaths is washed over by the Numa Numa craze.

Author Comments

I submitted this as my final in high school for Japanese, so all the voices are done by me. To all you native speakers - please excuse my awkward intonations. :)

Music from FFV and FFT, sound effects from various Genesis games.

P.S - Sorry, I don't intend to make this into a series. I'd rather not continue something I feel is complete.
Also, for those of you interested, Pensuke's victory cheer is "Yahho, watashi wa kattaze~!"

FAQ's:

1) What grade did you get for this?
- I recieved maximum credit for the final and aced the class.

2) How long did this take you?
- The project took about 2-3 weeks, with breaks only for eating, sleeping, and school, so it was actually a good many hours. I actually couldn't finish by the end of the semester, and had to get a deadline extension.

3) How did you do all those voices?
- Sound Forge was used to alter some of the voices. There is no way I could make my voice as low as Ramuh's or as warbly as Cid's. Others like Ryu-sensei's were attained through raw, painful effort.

4) What kind of class makes you do these things for a final?!
- The original assignment was to present an oral autobiography. I requested special permission to make a movie. My teacher isn't anything like the one depicted in this title - she's actually a good-natured woman.

5) Will you make a game of this?
- I might. It's looking pretty bleak, though. If I do produce one, it'd probably be in the fashion of FF Tactics (or FFV) and follow Pensuke to Sabaku University. Go Sabotenders~!

6) Why don't you make a sequel of this?
- I've seen enough titles go bad because the producers made sequels to please the crowd. Games, on the other hand, are a different story.

7) Can you teach me Japanese?
- Nope; I'm a student, not a teacher. If you're desperate enough, you can try looking for free online lessons or something. They're bound to be there.

Reviews


unthoughtfulunthoughtful

Rated 5 / 5 stars April 23, 2004

great way of presenting a game in a animation

the animation was great. if only it was a bit longer and more music/sound effects.



CANSCANS

Rated 5 / 5 stars April 23, 2004

A+

This was the best Final Fantsy parody i have ever seen. It was great that you made the black mage Cid the wiser of three. my only complaint is that the moogle should have passed the pop quiz. It should have been something else. Other than that this deserves an A+.
(i know I'm lame, but this animation isn't)
P.S: Great opening, that hppens to some of my older games in cartridge form.


Mousekliks responds:

The moogle's voice was a strain on my throat, so I decided to flunk him early :) And my condolences to you in regards to your cartridge games.


KneffKneff

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars April 23, 2004

Awesome stuff, great concept...

I can't believe anyone would put that much work into something for school. I guess you got an A+.

Anyway, great graphics. Good storyline. The sound is done perfectly. And having Japanese voicing with subtitles is pretty cool, it really ties the whole thing together.


People find this review helpful!

psychoticgrapefruitpsychoticgrapefruit

Rated 5 / 5 stars April 23, 2004

nice piece of work

Wow this is really good! animation is fantastic, sound is great [although i don't understand japanese], everything is perfect. I hope you got a good mark on your final. This definetely merits front page. keep 'em coming, you're really talented



lazerFRIGHTshowlazerFRIGHTshow

Rated 5 / 5 stars April 23, 2004

Cool!

Really cool. You should make another, just about FF.