Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Apr 23, 2004 | 2:26 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice April 27, 2004
  • Review Crew Pick April 28, 2004
  • Daily Feature April 24, 2004

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • Anime
    Anime We've received tons of anime-themed submissions over the years!
  • Final Fantasy
    Final Fantasy The world's favorite RPG now has your favorite Flash spoofs!
  • Flash Portal History: 2004
    Flash Portal History: 2004 The disturbing news of multiple artist deaths is washed over by the Numa Numa craze.

Author Comments

I submitted this as my final in high school for Japanese, so all the voices are done by me. To all you native speakers - please excuse my awkward intonations. :)

Music from FFV and FFT, sound effects from various Genesis games.

P.S - Sorry, I don't intend to make this into a series. I'd rather not continue something I feel is complete.
Also, for those of you interested, Pensuke's victory cheer is "Yahho, watashi wa kattaze~!"

FAQ's:

1) What grade did you get for this?
- I recieved maximum credit for the final and aced the class.

2) How long did this take you?
- The project took about 2-3 weeks, with breaks only for eating, sleeping, and school, so it was actually a good many hours. I actually couldn't finish by the end of the semester, and had to get a deadline extension.

3) How did you do all those voices?
- Sound Forge was used to alter some of the voices. There is no way I could make my voice as low as Ramuh's or as warbly as Cid's. Others like Ryu-sensei's were attained through raw, painful effort.

4) What kind of class makes you do these things for a final?!
- The original assignment was to present an oral autobiography. I requested special permission to make a movie. My teacher isn't anything like the one depicted in this title - she's actually a good-natured woman.

5) Will you make a game of this?
- I might. It's looking pretty bleak, though. If I do produce one, it'd probably be in the fashion of FF Tactics (or FFV) and follow Pensuke to Sabaku University. Go Sabotenders~!

6) Why don't you make a sequel of this?
- I've seen enough titles go bad because the producers made sequels to please the crowd. Games, on the other hand, are a different story.

7) Can you teach me Japanese?
- Nope; I'm a student, not a teacher. If you're desperate enough, you can try looking for free online lessons or something. They're bound to be there.

Reviews


mcginlaymcginlay

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars March 30, 2005

A must see for any Final Fantasy fan!

This is a must see for any final fantasy fan and also for anyone who likes this sort of flash. The Japanese speech is a nice touch and it works even better than if it was spoken in english. This deserves to be in the top 50 at least and I want to see even more of this. Keep up the good work!



Beautiful-StrangerBeautiful-Stranger

Rated 4 / 5 stars March 30, 2005

That was cool.

This is not the best flash movie I've seen but it DEFINITELY deserves to be on the top 50 list. I think the only reason this movie didn't completely make the grade is because I'm not really a Final Fantasy fan. But I still give it a thumbs up. ^_^



SakuraMotaSakuraMota

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 30, 2005

Awesomely Awesome!

I love this so much! I've watched it like six times! I especially love the way you portrayed the Black Mage. (Your concept was awesome.) You're Japanese sounded pretty good to me, but then, I don't speak Japanese that well, so I guess I can't really give a valid opinion, huh? But great job; if I were your teacher, I'd be thrilled that you went beyond the call of duty for a grade. Great job!



cakeman112344cakeman112344

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 30, 2005

And this... this was the best FF flash i saw!

i Must add this to my favourites!! it was so GREAT!! the voice acting was great!! all the best u in the future!!!



SebastianMartiSebastianMarti

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 30, 2005

Outstanding, seriously, one of the best ive seen

Man, please DO MORE ANIMATION!!! seriously... its amazing you could even like sell your talent man, take this seriously not only as a japanese class final, you are talented!! use your talent!! make more movies!! they rock!