Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Apr 19, 2001 | 12:53 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice April 25, 2001
  • Daily Feature April 20, 2001

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • Flash Portal History: 2001
    Flash Portal History: 2001 The year starts with someone setting up the bomb and ends with 9/11. Also, the Clock Crew is born!
  • Xiao Xiao
    Xiao Xiao The ultimate stick figure series, and a bunch of goofy parodies as well!

Author Comments

The movie that got a lot of attention!

Reviews


kaioken721kaioken721

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 20, 2011

frickin sweet

dude don't stop making these


People find this review helpful!

itblobboyitblobboy

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars October 15, 2011

very good but...

i noticed at first they flashed away and vanishes, then they just stayed there after 5 kills or so... and i noticed he got smaller a 'lil bit then bigger again in the boss fight to 3D... AND that during the boss fight, all the bodies vanished! still, good though.



pricey108pricey108

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 8, 2011

this is a brilliant!!

beyond anything we see today but how come at certain parts of the movie the shape of the stickmen seemed too changed? when the boss attacked xiao xiao it seemed like they got shorter and there heads got bigger... was this intentional?



ivan-siliceivan-silice

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 30, 2011

a well remembered classic

It is with out a doubt that this is probably one of the most famous stick fighter videos out there on the internet and I have a feeling it will always be that way. I remember when I first saw this video and I couldn't believe how well done it was and how it made me want to look for more of its kind. i have to say this movie was very well done.


People find this review helpful!

Daedo-The-MofoDaedo-The-Mofo

Rated 4 / 5 stars September 19, 2011

amazing

This was a movie that I had reviewed many many years ago and loved even back then. In the review I gave the movie a 0 though, not because of its stick animation style (which is still easily the best in the field) but because people were uploading it on their own accounts. Its good to see that credit is going to the original author now and I'm able to review these properly (my last reviews were deleted for being abusive, even though they were correct about the movies being stolen way back when)

So yeah, people have had ten years to try and outdo Zhu when it comes to stick animation, and I think its fair to say no-one has come close! The sheer scope of having all this fighting going on at once and looking so smooth while its happening is just amazing! Even though its stick animation, its simply amazing stick animation and the Matrix parody at the end was great use of the 3D visuals, even if nowadays the whole spinning the camera aorund the action thing is seen as quite rote and cliche (to be honest it was probably quite cliche back in 2001 as well, but it was EVERYWHERE back in 2001. People would shoehorn that shit in anywhere even if it wasn't required) Still, it works very well here!

Ok, so the animation is obviously incredible here and the minimalist approach works well for the style of the movie. But of course it could always be better. Having fully animated characters would make this at least 100 times more complicated but it would still look better. Since that is never going to happen, an easier thing to fix would be a plot. Yes, this looks swank as hell, but it needs a story behind why this guy is having to kick all these other guys asses. Otherwise it just looks like something out of a computer game.

Overall, amazing movie! I'm glad the original author is now getting the credit he deserves.


People find this review helpful!