Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Nov 17, 2003 | 4:23 AM EST
  • Daily Feature November 18, 2003
  • Weekly 5th Place November 19, 2003

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

Music video for THEODOR BASTARD

Reviews


olcoilolcoil

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 2, 2003

wow

wow kol this movie is amazing, we'd all ready like it if u explained the meaning behind it.

and here's my make of it
what i got was, one is either imprisoned or free (key or no key), the prisoner may escape the jail. But only luck will determine the outcome. However, for everyone that is free, the once-free must be imprisoned (the clown that turned into a convict). Now the ex-convict is free (during the last scene), and one whom was once free, the clown, now is not. And its an endless circle of these events

The bird lady symbolized death, suicide, insanity or lost of soul
The cardholder himself reps the forces that give us choices/options, although we do not know what those choices will lead to. element of luck
The monsters rep society/evil/the world/wars (converts the free into prisoners)
The bug reps government/country/culture. They either grant freedom or take prisoners

665 reps lost of life/journey to hell/corruption

anyways all these are just guesses


People find this review helpful!

DarkEspritDarkEsprit

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 1, 2003

Kickass

Disturbing visuals, smooth flash, check.
Awesome music, check.
Thought provoking subject matter, check.
Good flash, man.



TcartoonTcartoon

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 1, 2003

simply the best fucking movie on NG.

yeah.



MADdoggMITCHMADdoggMITCH

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 30, 2003

Wow...

This has to be one of the coolest, and definitely the most abstract Flash movie on Newgrounds. The animation and style suit the song perfectly. Even if the music is a little fuzzy in places, you don't notice at first because of the awesome graphics.

If you notice, the wheel-sitter at the beginning has a key, while the main character doesn't. He goes through all kind of things to get his key, like the bird-skull lady and the spider in the hole trying to kill him. Then he's put on some sort of trial in front of the giant monsters, who find him innocent, I guess. He then gets a second chance from the card-dealer in the sky, and he redeems himself. Then at the end of the movie, he becomes the wheel sitter that's looking at the keyless person in the window. So I guess it's a cycle, but of what I don't know. Life and Death?

And yet, I don't have a clue about what the music video means. Whatever it means, this is an awesome movie, and you can really tell that Kol put alot of work into it.



TwistedMindTwistedMind

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 30, 2003

Did I just watch a Flash? Or a soul?

I must first say that it is very refreshing to see a work of such caliber and depth, and I look forward to any future submissions you may come up with. As to the meaning of the work, I have a few theories. First, as for the "665" that raised some questions in the other reviews, I believe it symbolizes that the artist considers his life (or life in general) is almost hell. Second, I agree with some of the other reviews that the purpose of the card-picker is to symbolize the significance of luck as part of life. As for the rest of the Flash, I am still trying to puzzle that out. (The following text is the same review but in Russian for the benefit of the artist)
ß äîëæåí ñïåðâà ñêàçàòü ÷òî îí î÷åíü îñâåæàåò äëÿ òîãî ÷òîáû óâèäåòü ðàáîòó òàêèõ êàëèáðà è ãëóáèíû, è ÿ ñìîòðþ âïåðåä ê âñåì áóäóùèì ïðåäñòàâëåíèÿì, êîòîð âû ìîæåòå come up ñ. Î ñìûñëè ðàáîòû, ß èìåþ íåìíîãî òåîðèé. Âî ïåðâûõ, êàê äëÿ "665" ïîäíÿëè íåêîòîðûå âîïðîñû â äðóãèõ ïðîñìîòðåíèÿõ, ß âåðþ îí ñèìâîëèçèðóåò ÷òî õóäîæíèê ðàññìàòðèâàåò åãî æèçíü (èëè æèçíü â îáùåì) áóäåò ïî÷òè àäîì. Âî-âòîðûõ, ß ñîãëàøàþñü ñ íåêîòîðûìè èç äðóãèõ ïðîñìîòðåíèé ÷òî öåëü êàðòî÷ê-podbor5ika äîëæíà ñèìâîëèçèðîâàòü çíà÷åíèå âåçåíèÿ êàê ÷àñòü æèçíè. Êàê äëÿ îñòàëüíîåâ âñïûøêè, ß âñå åùå ïûòàþñü îçàäà÷èòü òî âíå.


People find this review helpful!