Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Sep 4, 2003 | 12:07 AM EDT
  • Daily 4th Place September 5, 2003

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

ATTENTION! PART 3 HAS BEEN RELEASED!

UPDATE (9/4/03)

NOTE: If this is your first time watching the movie, I recommend reading all the Author's comments first, as it has some important info about the movie.
---

Hey everyone. So far the overall reaction to the movie has been very good, but there are a few common complaints that I would like to address here.

First of all, many people have compained about the quality of the character animation in this movie. I realize the characters are not very animated, but there is a reason for this. In its current state, the movie is just barely small enough to fit within the movie guidelines for this site, after being divided into three seperate parts. Many portions of the movie are very stressful on slower computers as it is. We experimented with simple walking animations while working on the movie, and it drastically reduced the framerate on complex parts of the movie, and increased the file size. We decided that it would be best to keep the character animation as simple as we could, for maximum accessibility. Had we originally planned to have the movie set up as three seperate episodes, we probably could have worked some better animation into it, but at this point it's too late to do anything about it.

The second issue I would like to discuss is the comedy portions of the movie. This is a more controversial subject; many people enjoy the comedy, but a large number of people feel the movie would be better off without it. From the beginning, we wanted to approach the genre in a semi-comical manner. Not exactly a spoof, but enough comedy so that it'd be obvious the movie wasn't taking itself too seriously. For the people who didn't like the humor, there's not much I can say at this point. I just recommend not trying too hard to stick this movie into either the comedy or the action genre, and just try to be entertained by both parts.

In any case, my next Flash project, which I'm currently working on, is going to be completely devoid of humor (in fact it is intended to be somewhat depressing), and the animation will be far superior to The Hunt. It will be a much shorter movie based almost entirely on intense action sequences. But that's not due out for a while, so for the time being, I hope you can overlook some of The Hunt's shortcomings and enjoy the movie for what it is. Thanks!

---
Shattered Dreams Images presents...

THE HUNT: OPERATION PHOENIX

This movie is the result of over one year of the hard work of myself and several of my friends.

IMPORTANT INFO:
1. Due to the complexity of some scenes, some people may experience problems with the movie's sound falling out of sync with the images in the movie. If this happens, press the pause button in the corner of the screen, and then press it again to resume playing the movie. This should realign the sound with the images in the movie.
2. Portions of the movie are very dark. If you are having trouble seeing these parts of the movie, turn up the brightness on your monitor.

OTHER NOTES
It was originally set up as one episode, but size limitations forced me to cut it into three seperate episodes. Due to website limitations, I'll have to wait until tomorrow to upload part 3, so for now only the first two parts are available.

I don't know what else needs to be said right now, except that I hope everybody enjoys this movie- we've put a lot of work into it. I'm definitely open to any comments or constructive criticism anyone may have, so please feel free to leave a review after watching the movie. Thanks!

-RobsH66, Shattered Dreams Images

Reviews


soccerandchess12soccerandchess12

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 22, 2004

Great...here's some ideas, pros and cons of vid

The Entrance was awesome. It compares to big time movie franchises...truly great.

All of the music in your movies is well picked and is one of it's highlights.

The healing machines reminded me too much of DBZ. They should be on counters with Docters and IVs not healing chambers.

The free willy music made me laugh with Tonky- good stuff.

I was thinking maybe some graphiti or more blud on the outside wall. Maybe some bodies piled or spread out.

The guns kept flipping and although it was kinda funny it took me out of the experience.

I loved the grenade cam shot with the grenade launcher. Pretty cool effect...explosion should be tad faster though.

And I think the enemy down soundbite is from counter-strike is it not? That's a good thing just so you know.



Zelda-ThuganomixZelda-Thuganomix

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 22, 2004

amazing

WOW! that was awesome! though i must say the fallen angel teaser is better but KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK.



Stewie-SteweyStewie-Stewey

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 21, 2004

AWSOME!!!

WOW! that waz amazing. u r the best at flash! ur movies r awsome and this one waz funny with tonky!



WintermuteAIWintermuteAI

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 20, 2004

Excellent work, as usual

Great work Rob, as usual. Your style in this is fantastic. i recognized several elements and influences you used for the "look and feel" of the movie. I Definitely look forward to each new work you put out there.



DracosladeDracoslade

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars September 20, 2004

Free Tonky!!!

Ahahahaha that was great i like the mix of comedy in thier. What the hell are those 7th grade neerd-looking things? nice job.

P.S.: get to work on fallen angel!!!