Be a Supporter!

Computer Construction Crew

  • 83,827 Views
  • 2,387 Replies
New Topic Respond to this Topic
XIII13
XIII13
  • Member since: Nov. 8, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 18
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Construction Crew Jan. 13th, 2010 @ 04:10 PM Reply

Well, I got it to turn on, and stay on. Only problem is, it boots up and gives me screen that only says Please reboot and choose a boot drive, or enter a boot media into the boot drive and press any key. I tried putting in my Linux CD, and thatt didn't work. How do I get to the BIOS?


This looks froody.

BBS Signature
ph0ne
ph0ne
  • Member since: Nov. 25, 2007
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 05
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Construction Crew Jan. 13th, 2010 @ 05:54 PM Reply

At 1/13/10 04:10 PM, XIII13 wrote: Well, I got it to turn on, and stay on. Only problem is, it boots up and gives me screen that only says Please reboot and choose a boot drive, or enter a boot media into the boot drive and press any key. I tried putting in my Linux CD, and thatt didn't work. How do I get to the BIOS?

It varies for different boards. Try your delete key, F1, F2, F12, tell me if that works.

XIII13
XIII13
  • Member since: Nov. 8, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 18
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Construction Crew Jan. 13th, 2010 @ 06:29 PM Reply

Ehh, figured it a while ago by reading the instructions, and hitting buttons at random times. Turns out it was the Delete button. :l Unfortanutly, my moms DVD drive fails, and won't burn the linux disks corectly, so I have to go out and buy (OMG) Windows 7. Thne I can use that, burn the Linux discs, and not have to worry about buying Windows, 6 months down the road.


This looks froody.

BBS Signature
BananaBreadMuffin
BananaBreadMuffin
  • Member since: Jul. 8, 2003
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 41
Audiophile
Response to Computer Construction Crew Jan. 13th, 2010 @ 08:35 PM Reply

I've got a 2nd monitor now, simple question, nvidia graphics card (8800GTS), how do I go about making the taskbar stretch across the bottom of both screens? Is it possible? I've downloaded UltraMon in the meantime but I'd prefer a solution that meant that moving mouse to the bottom right meant going to desktop like it does in a single monitor. My primary monitor is on the left, and I can't change that because of the layout of my room.

I'm using Windows 7 Pro.

ThoseSneakyFrench
ThoseSneakyFrench
  • Member since: Apr. 19, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 21
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Construction Crew Jan. 15th, 2010 @ 06:06 AM Reply

As far as I know Nvidia Control Panel and Windows don't let you get very fancy with multi-monitors, so ultramon would propbably be your best bet.

At the risk of raging and gagging publicly today, I clicked the "About this Mac" button in my school's computer graphics lab. They were bought in early 2008 and were $2000 without software.

2Gb DDR2 667
2.2 C2D
ATI x1600
320Gb Hard drive
1680x1050 LCD

R-R-R-RRRRRRAGGGGEEEEEEE

That much money on a useless piece of shit and they don't even buy tablets for an ART computer lab.

razorbladesigh
razorbladesigh
  • Member since: Mar. 6, 2006
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 17
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Construction Crew Jan. 22nd, 2010 @ 08:44 AM Reply

I am about to take the first step of being a better computer nerd.
I have selected the following parts for my home-builts computer:

CD.DVD drive.
Hard Drive
Monitor.
Graphics Card
Sound Card
Speakers
RAM. (2 of these)
Motherboard
Processor
OS
Case/Power

The problem is that it costs $950 altogether.
What I ask you you guys is:
Tell me if there is any compatibility problems, and more importantly, if I can build a similar computer for cheaper. I really want it to be a somewhat decent gaming computer, but it doesn't have to be super amazing.


|1.|2.|3.|

BBS Signature
Conal
Conal
  • Member since: Jul. 25, 2006
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 31
Melancholy
Response to Computer Construction Crew Jan. 23rd, 2010 @ 05:10 PM Reply

Hey guys, what can you tell me about my computer with this pic?

Computer Construction Crew


​   ▲      ▲      ▲
▲ ▲▲ ▲▲ ▲
                                                                      ಠ_ಠ

BBS Signature
Megafones
Megafones
  • Member since: Jul. 2, 2009
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 05
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Construction Crew Jan. 23rd, 2010 @ 06:54 PM Reply

Hey members of the CCC, I'm seriously interested in building a PC and figured you guys would be a good place to start asking nooby questions. I've been looking at a HP base model to get me started and thought I might replace the graphics card and maybe add a blu-ray drive as I will be using my TV as the monitor when I'm playing games and watching films, everything else will be done on my smaller TV/Monitor.

Here's my starting point, what do you guys think, I'm looking at around a £350-400 budget so it seems ideal.

http://h10010.www1.hp.com/wwpc/uk/en/ho/
WF06a/12454-12454-3329740-64546-64546-39 42799.html


BBS Signature
steveo1259
steveo1259
  • Member since: Mar. 16, 2009
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 05
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Construction Crew Jan. 24th, 2010 @ 08:51 AM Reply

At 1/23/10 05:10 PM, GOTHCLAWZ wrote: Hey guys, what can you tell me about my computer with this pic?

you have a 4 core cpu or a 2 core cpu with hyperthreading enabled. you also have 3gb of ram.

conkerman
conkerman
  • Member since: Jun. 6, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 11
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Construction Crew Jan. 24th, 2010 @ 04:04 PM Reply

omnomagon why didnt i think of making this club well i must join
Current specs - Case : dell dimensions 3000, Motherboard: Zotac AM2+, CPU: Athlon x2 6000+ 3Ghz, RAM: 2gbs kingston value DDR2 RAM, GPU: Sapphire 4850 HDD: 1tb seagate barracuda, PSU: 750 corsair tx750
Dont tell me how incredibly unblanced this is because it was a way to allow my crappy dell to play recent games without spending more than a couple 100

Future - Case: Antec 1200 Motherboard: Gigabyte X58 CPU: i7 920 RAM: 6gb Corsair dominators GPU: 5850
Keeping HDD and PSU

What do you think of my future build any experience with any of these parts?


BBS Signature
TheMaster
TheMaster
  • Member since: May. 12, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 30
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Construction Crew Jan. 24th, 2010 @ 04:21 PM Reply

I want to get my dad a new graphics card, since he plays PC games all the time, and it's his only outdated component (he doesn't even have one, he's using onboard graphics), and it's stopping him playing any new games.

How do I go about checking what will be compatible?


PSN: Absurd-Ditties | Steam | Letterboxd

BBS Signature
XIII13
XIII13
  • Member since: Nov. 8, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 18
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Construction Crew Jan. 24th, 2010 @ 05:17 PM Reply

At 1/24/10 04:04 PM, conkerman wrote:
Future - Case: Antec 1200 Motherboard: Gigabyte X58 CPU: i7 920 RAM: 6gb Corsair dominators GPU: 5850
Keeping HDD and PSU

I've got the Antec 900 case, and honestly, it's awesome. Other than the fact that it's really, really hard to plug SATA cables in because of where they mounted an optional fan mount. It's also pretty big, and should fit your parts, if you want to save a bit of money.


This looks froody.

BBS Signature
conkerman
conkerman
  • Member since: Jun. 6, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 11
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Construction Crew Jan. 24th, 2010 @ 11:03 PM Reply

At 1/24/10 05:17 PM, XIII13 wrote:
At 1/24/10 04:04 PM, conkerman wrote:
Future - Case: Antec 1200 Motherboard: Gigabyte X58 CPU: i7 920 RAM: 6gb Corsair dominators GPU: 5850
Keeping HDD and PSU
I've got the Antec 900 case, and honestly, it's awesome. Other than the fact that it's really, really hard to plug SATA cables in because of where they mounted an optional fan mount. It's also pretty big, and should fit your parts, if you want to save a bit of money.

I wanted full tower in case i decide to do maybe crossfire or liquid cooling or something like that cause the 1200 is huge and has alot of 3.5" drive bays


BBS Signature
conkerman
conkerman
  • Member since: Jun. 6, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 11
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Construction Crew Jan. 24th, 2010 @ 11:06 PM Reply

At 1/24/10 04:21 PM, TheMaster wrote: I want to get my dad a new graphics card, since he plays PC games all the time, and it's his only outdated component (he doesn't even have one, he's using onboard graphics), and it's stopping him playing any new games.

How do I go about checking what will be compatible?

search your dads motherboard on the internet or ask him your self what the name is and then see if it supports PCI E or PCI Express if it does you can pick just about anything the newest form is PCI E x2 or like 2.0 something like that if it has that then anything will perform normally with it... well anything recent i suggest newegg.com for GPU parts you can narrow your search to PCI, PCI E, AGP whatever he has itll tell you what u can buy to fit it


BBS Signature
ph0ne
ph0ne
  • Member since: Nov. 25, 2007
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 05
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Construction Crew Jan. 26th, 2010 @ 01:03 AM Reply

At 1/24/10 05:17 PM, XIII13 wrote: I've got the Antec 900 case, and honestly, it's awesome. Other than the fact that it's really, really hard to plug SATA cables in because of where they mounted an optional fan mount. It's also pretty big, and should fit your parts, if you want to save a bit of money.

Pfft, the 900 is just overrated garbage. It ain't got shit on my Lancool K7.

XIII13
XIII13
  • Member since: Nov. 8, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 18
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Construction Crew Jan. 26th, 2010 @ 07:34 AM Reply

At 1/26/10 01:03 AM, ph0ne wrote:
Pfft, the 900 is just overrated garbage. It ain't got shit on my Lancool K7.

Not my style of case.


This looks froody.

BBS Signature
ph0ne
ph0ne
  • Member since: Nov. 25, 2007
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 05
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Construction Crew Jan. 27th, 2010 @ 05:14 PM Reply

At 1/26/10 07:34 AM, XIII13 wrote: Not my style of case.

If your you prefer ricer crap over elegance.

ph0ne
ph0ne
  • Member since: Nov. 25, 2007
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 05
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Construction Crew Jan. 28th, 2010 @ 12:45 PM Reply

At 1/27/10 05:14 PM, ph0ne wrote:
At 1/26/10 07:34 AM, XIII13 wrote: Not my style of case.
If your you prefer ricer crap over elegance.

Whoops, typo.

Dean
Dean
  • Member since: Feb. 16, 2008
  • Online!
Forum Stats
Moderator
Level 46
Gamer
Response to Computer Construction Crew Feb. 2nd, 2010 @ 05:47 PM Reply

Seems as if it has been ages since I last posted here. Just though I'd pop in an mention that I am hoping to get a job during the summer months and build a gaming desktop with some of the cash I hope to earn.

Last time I posted here, I had plans for a build, but decided that a laptop would be more suitable for my time at uni, and I think i made the right decision. It has always been in the back of my mind though that I should have went for the desktop, so now I'm hoping to eventually get the benefits of both.

It's a little early to start designing my build, since I don't know what my budget will be and there will be new hardware released before then, so I wouldn't be able to stick with a list without having to change it now and then. Although I've still got a while before I will get started in this project, I want to get myself a rough idea of what I'd like. I'm planning on spending all the money I have on this project, so it should turn out to be quite interesting for me in the end.

I'll be sure to keep you guys informed once I start this build. I'll no doubt need some help now and again as well, because it will be the first time that I've done this.


BBS + Chat Moderator - Feel free to send me a PM if you have a problem!
Want to instant message me? [ Skype - DeanNewgrounds ]

BBS Signature
PolishMatt
PolishMatt
  • Member since: Feb. 13, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 29
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Construction Crew Feb. 16th, 2010 @ 08:47 AM Reply

At 1/24/10 11:03 PM, conkerman wrote: I wanted full tower in case i decide to do maybe crossfire or liquid cooling or something like that cause the 1200 is huge and has alot of 3.5" drive bays

I have the 1200. My buddy has the 900. The difference is night and day. Unless you want to spend the next few years with a case that will be a bitch to work with (due to its size) and that will run out of space quickly as you upgrade more and more, I would suggest getting the 1200. The difference in price is small but the benefits are huge. It can also be a super quiet case if you turn off the fans (I have them all plugged into one socket on the PSU for easy on/off control over all of them). Also it looks insanely better in my opinion.


Visit my brilliant Last.fm account by clicking the breathtaking signature below. Disappointment is futile.

BBS Signature
BananaBreadMuffin
BananaBreadMuffin
  • Member since: Jul. 8, 2003
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 41
Audiophile
Response to Computer Construction Crew Feb. 16th, 2010 @ 08:49 PM Reply

So anyway my graphics card (8800GTS 320mb) is on the way out (first time I turn on my PC I get "
one long + three short = no VGA detected", then i restart and it turns on fine), so I thought I'd upgrade my graphics card.

I'm looking for a budget card, being a poor student, ideally £70 or less. I'm also looking for a card with two DVI outs, so I can run both my monitors.

I haven't paid much attention to graphics cards recently and quite frankly all the new card models scare me, but I've heard great things about ATi's new stuff so wouldn't be averse to giving them a try.

Any tips or pointers?

McZero
McZero
  • Member since: Jan. 1, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 12
Audiophile
Response to Computer Construction Crew Feb. 23rd, 2010 @ 09:54 PM Reply

Ok guys, bear with me I need to know if this is possible, just a quick question.
Say I have a laptop, could I use it as a monitor for a desktop, and when I have to go places, I disconnect it from the desktop, and use it as a normal laptop. Would it be possible to have a hardrive set up as this:
>DESKTOP HD
>LAPTOP/DESKTOP HD
>LAPTOP HD
Have a harddrive for each PC, but also a shared hardrive.
Is that possible? If it is that is probably god tier college set up.

ph0ne
ph0ne
  • Member since: Nov. 25, 2007
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 05
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Construction Crew Feb. 27th, 2010 @ 02:50 AM Reply

At 2/16/10 08:49 PM, BananaBreadMuffin wrote: So anyway my graphics card (8800GTS 320mb) is on the way out (first time I turn on my PC I get "
one long + three short = no VGA detected", then i restart and it turns on fine), so I thought I'd upgrade my graphics card.

I'm looking for a budget card, being a poor student, ideally £70 or less. I'm also looking for a card with two DVI outs, so I can run both my monitors.

I haven't paid much attention to graphics cards recently and quite frankly all the new card models scare me, but I've heard great things about ATi's new stuff so wouldn't be averse to giving them a try.

Any tips or pointers?

Being that you're British and you use an inferior currency, I had to convery 70 GBP to USD, which equals about 106. I found an HD4770 for $99.99 on Newegg. Try to find it at an English retailer.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.as px?Item=N82E16814127452

It's a 40nm card, so it's very power-efficient and doesn't get very hot, which leaves a lot of headroom fro overclocking. Don't listen to what everyone tells you about the HD5000 series, this is just about the same minus Eyefinity and DX11, but dual monitors and ATI has always been no problem even before Eyefinity, so you should be good to go.

ph0ne
ph0ne
  • Member since: Nov. 25, 2007
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 05
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Construction Crew Feb. 27th, 2010 @ 02:52 AM Reply

At 2/16/10 08:47 AM, PolishMatt wrote: I have the 1200

CoolerMaster ACTS 840 > Any Antec case.

PolishMatt
PolishMatt
  • Member since: Feb. 13, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 29
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Construction Crew Mar. 8th, 2010 @ 07:55 AM Reply

At 2/27/10 02:52 AM, ph0ne wrote:
At 2/16/10 08:47 AM, PolishMatt wrote: I have the 1200
CoolerMaster ACTS 840 > Any Antec case.

How does a regular tower defeat a full tower? The interior of the case isn't even painted black. It also doesn't have a full 2nd wall that will hide cables like the 1200. Not to mention it doesn't even have half as many fans or drive bays made out of steel and tightened with screws, just flimsy plastic ones that will break after the 3rd HDD swap. And the air circulation for the HDDs looks lousy, 80% the area between the fans and disks are covered with a metal wall. Unless it's a Corsair's Obsidian Series 800D enclosure, it won't beat the Antec 1200.


Visit my brilliant Last.fm account by clicking the breathtaking signature below. Disappointment is futile.

BBS Signature
walterwagner
walterwagner
  • Member since: Jan. 17, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 21
Reader
Response to Computer Construction Crew Mar. 9th, 2010 @ 04:23 AM Reply

At 10/15/08 11:56 PM, Aksumka wrote: I like this idea.

Anyway, my specs:

Q6600 (2.4 OC'd to about 2.8, need a better heatsink or something)
ATI (ASUS) 4850 512MB Vid card (ASUS gave us some simple software for OCing is, I don't just because of how hot it runs now)
2GB Corsair RAM (DDR2 whatever)
ASUS P5W DH Delux

Mine is so simmilar to yours its not funny


I Know Drugs, I Know Video Games, I Know Rap, I Know Dru- wait...nevermind. Feel free to discuss any of these with me

BBS Signature
Dean
Dean
  • Member since: Feb. 16, 2008
  • Online!
Forum Stats
Moderator
Level 46
Gamer
Response to Computer Construction Crew Mar. 15th, 2010 @ 04:00 PM Reply

Ok, I've put together myself a rig that I plan to make at some point in the late summer once I've got some cash in the bank. Keeping in mind I've never built my own rig before, I'd like your feedback on this set up.

This list contains EVERYTHING I should need. Operating System isn't an issue, as I have access to one free copy of XP, Vista and 7. I plan on dual booting Win 7 and a Linux distro. Possibly Tri booting with XP, since I don't know how 7 handles old games. Please point out parts that won't work with each other or whatever, like I said I'm a noob at this. Also, if Im missing something, point it out.

CPU
- AMD Phenom II X4 955 BlackEdition, 3.2GHz, 8MB Total Cache (Socket AM3)
- scan.co.uk
- £113.99

Motherboard
- MSI 890GXM-G65 AMD 890GX Socket AM3 Gigabit Ethernet 8 channel MATX Motherboard
- ebuyer.com
- £110.54

RAM
- Corsair XMS3 4GB (2x2GB) DDR3 10666C9 1333MHz TwinX Dual Channel
- overclockers.co.uk
- £102.99

Graphics Card
- Sapphire ATI Radeon HD 5770 1024MB GDDR5 PCI-Express
- overclockers.co.uk
- £124.98

Hard Drive
- Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB SATA 6Gb/s 64MB Cache - OEM
- overclockers.co.uk
- £86.99 (x2)

Optical Drive
- LG GH22NP20 22x DVD±RW IDE ReWriter (Black) - OEM
- overclockers.co.uk
- £18.99

Cooling
- CoolIT Eco A.L.C. High-Performance CPU Watercooler
- overclockers.co.uk
- £58.99

Case
- Coolermaster Storm "Scout" Gaming Case - Black
- overclockers.co.uk
- £69.99

Power Supply
- OCZ StealthXStream 700w Silent Power Supply
- overclockers.co.uk
- £62.99

Monitor
- LG Flatron W2253TQ-PF 22" Widescreen LCD Monitor (1920x1080)
- overclockers.co.uk
- £129.99

Speakers
- Logitech X-140 2.0 Speaker System
- overclockers.co.uk
- £15.99

Keyboard
- Microsoft SideWinder X6 Gamers Keyboard with Detatchable Keypad - USB
- ebuyer.com
- £40.33

Mouse
- Razer Abyssus Gaming Mouse
- ebuyer.com
- £31.38

TOTAL COST = £1055.63


BBS + Chat Moderator - Feel free to send me a PM if you have a problem!
Want to instant message me? [ Skype - DeanNewgrounds ]

BBS Signature
Entice
Entice
  • Member since: Jun. 30, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 13
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Construction Crew Mar. 20th, 2010 @ 08:04 PM Reply

Okay, this is the first time that I'm building a computer. I've done a little research and come up with a list of parts here, will they, when combined, form a decent, fast computer? Are the parts compatible with each other, and did I miss anything?

Processor

Motherboard

RAM

Graphics Card

Hard Drive

DVD/CD Drive

Fan

Case

I already have a mouse, keyboard, and monitor.

PolishMatt
PolishMatt
  • Member since: Feb. 13, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 29
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Construction Crew Mar. 22nd, 2010 @ 08:32 PM Reply

Fried my motherboard after turning on the XMP profile (whatever it's called) out of curiosity for the memory sticks in the BIOS. Had to wait two weeks for a new board and EVGA refused to fix it because it was physical damage, definitely buying a ASUS board next time (Had to buy the same one or else the RAID controller wouldn't recognize my RAID-0 and I would lose all my data, so in essence, it was keeping my data as hostage).


Visit my brilliant Last.fm account by clicking the breathtaking signature below. Disappointment is futile.

BBS Signature
Sialys
Sialys
  • Member since: Aug. 24, 2007
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 09
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Construction Crew Mar. 26th, 2010 @ 12:14 AM Reply

I have a question.. I don't think there's a better place to ask it than here.

I recently made the stupid mistake of being curious, so I opened up my computer and started taking out wires just so I could put them back in later. Now, I was definitely safe about this, don't worry. Powered down, didn't touch any of the hardware.

But, when I hooked everything back up.. The computer started, but now that's all that happens. I don't have a temperature read out, and my moniter doesnt show up with anything.

Not sure what to do about this guys.. I may have completely fucked myself.


Gran Turismo 5.
That is all.